Busy Week For Me and Youngest Son

I’m going to take a minute to write while  have a chance.  It’s going to be a busy week, and I may not have much time later on.  My sister-in-law is having the family over for my nephew’s birthday on Tuesday night.  Can you imagine the audacity of having a kid during tax season when you have an accountant in the family?  Wednesday, we’re going to see our beloved Penguins play hockey.  The sad part is, I’m going in place of Youngest Son.  I love the Pens but no one is a bigger sports fan than Youngest Son.  And he can’t go.

Youngest Son came home for about 41 hours this weekend.  That’s about all he could spare in the past month or so.  He goes to a good school, and he made the right choice, but his advisor told him last year that this would likely be the “weed-out” year for a lot of students.  We weren’t worried about him being weeded-out, but even a B would send anal Youngest Son over the edge.  So he’s stressed.  And his teachers are piling on the work.  He still works a few hours a week in the biology lab there, and they’ve asked him to tutor for two hours Sunday nights.  And jock that he is was missing the athletics he so enjoyed in high school, so he’s joined the track team this year.  He has practice almost every day.

Almost the entire brief time he was home this weekend, Youngest Son could be found sitting at the kitchen island hooked up to his ipod reading about Mammalian Physiology.  Poor kid.  And when he wasn’t there, he was sound asleep on the loveseat.  He couldn’t even stay awake to watch the Penguins play on TV.

When Big Daddy bought the Pens tickets so that he could take Middle Son J to a game while J was home on leave along with the rest of the sons, we had no idea that Youngest Son would have some humongous test this week.  Nor did we know about the 20 page lab report due.  Worst of all, while the teachers there are very good, some of the ones he has this semester are a bit inhumane.  Get this:

Books are expensive.  It’s the one college expense I make my kids pay for on their own.  His one professor has decided that they are not going to use two of the expensive books he had made them purchase.  They have to now buy two other expensive books instead.  And he told them right after the return period ended at the school bookstore.  Believe me, Youngest Son is cheap!  If there had been a chance to return those books, he would have been there immediately.

Another professor actually had a huge test the DAY AFTER THE SUPER BOWL!  And this is freaking Steeler country.  Pittsburgh public schools had a 2-hour delay after the Super Bowl and this sick dude had a test for these poor kids.  How wrong is that?!

Luckily, Friday is his last day before spring break.  Hopefully, he’ll get a chance to relax a bit.  And maybe I’ll finally get to prod him a bit about this new girlfriend I read that he has on his Facebook profile.

4 Responses to “Busy Week For Me and Youngest Son”


  1. 1 recipe for chaos February 23, 2009 at 8:16 am

    Ohhh…I wish my son had half that work ethic. It makes you long for the days that you could just write a note. Please excuse…for not having his…. I once had a Prof in school who had 5 books on the list. About half way through semester I asked. “When are we going to get to these? I don’t see them in the Syllabus?” The Profs response. “Oh, We’re not using those, I thought they’d be good for your library.” ACK! Good luck to your son! and btw…told you FB would come in handy! lol

    • 2 mamaneeds2rant February 23, 2009 at 9:16 pm

      I’m starting to think those profs get kickbacks on book sales. And Facebook is pretty slick. In fact, if any blog readers are FB addicts, you can add the Blog Network application and add my blog (and recipe for chaos up there too) for easy one step reading! How’s that for shameless promotion, chaos mama?

  2. 3 So Much More Than A Mom February 24, 2009 at 9:50 am

    I just had the same experience myself with my dreaded stats class…$170 book that was “required” per the syllabus turned out to be OPTIONAL!! Yes, I’m sure I’ll be bored someday and decide to read THAT. I’m happy that we’re all embracing our FB addictions too, and how cool to get the scoop on youngest son there. 🙂

  3. 4 recipe for chaos February 24, 2009 at 11:53 am

    Well, thanks for adding me in your promo spot. ha! My son added my blog, then his best friend did too… I wonder if they actually read me????


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 171,921 hits


