The Boys Are Back In Town

Note to Everyone:  I am not writing this to complain.  I’m just saying.

This weekend, I have been transported to another life.  I’m back to living a life I’ve almost forgotten, even though it hasn’t been all that long ago.  They say your brain protects you that way, allowing you to forget painful or difficult times, such as childbirth.

In addition to starting back up to work this past week (I know, millions of people work every day), I suddenly have a houseful of people again.  In fact, for dinner last night, we had a total of 7.  This is not a bad thing.  In fact, it’s mostly a very good thing.  All my boys, and some of the accompanying girlfriends, were back in the nest.  It’s just different. In the past year, there were many weekends when it was just Big Daddy and me.  Grazing on leftovers.  Not needing to do laundry for days on end.  Nothing underfoot to trip over (except the occasional dog toy).

This morning, I was greeted with four loads of towels to launder.  Empty gallon cartons of my favorite green iced tea and milk were scattered amongst piles of dirty dishes in the kitchen.  I just ran the dishwasher after dinner last night, and so one of the first things I did this morning was unload the dishwasher.  And after I loaded the piles of dirty dishes into the emptied dishwasher, it was almost time to run it again!

Suddenly, whenever I need to use a bathroom, it’s occupied.  When I decide to take a laundry break and sit in “my” recliner chair, Youngest Son has claimed it.  Gathering up all the dirty laundry today has required me to do a walk-through of every room (not just the bathrooms and bedrooms where one would expect to find dirty clothes), and pluck dirty jeans from tables, doubled-up T-shirts off chairs, and balled up inside-out socks from the floor of every room.  Yes, I remember this life.  It’s all coming back to me.

And I’m not gonna lie.  It’s still nice to have them home.

11 Responses to “The Boys Are Back In Town”


  1. 1 sheribear9202 February 22, 2009 at 9:15 am

    HAHAHAHA… at least it’s not the girlfriend’s clothes as well…

  2. 3 Sheribear9202 February 22, 2009 at 4:14 pm

    Well, I can promise it’s not mine. =P

  3. 5 Chris February 22, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    Awwwww…she does love us =D

  4. 6 robinaltman February 22, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    Maybe I’m going insane, but that sort of choked me up. No matter how much I love to complain about my boys as teenagers, I know I’ll miss them one day. I think.

    The comment on the girl’s sports bra made me laugh! I’m not sure what I’ll do when that happens – probably leave the bras where they are, just like their dirty clothes right now.

  5. 8 paulascott60482 February 22, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    I have one son in college, I go back and forth on weather or not I want him to move out. Are the boys back for good or is it temporary? I think your laundry hunt story is an awwww moment too. Just wait til you hear those three little words shouted down the stairs…”MOM, Wheres My….? LOL

    • 9 mamaneeds2rant February 22, 2009 at 11:02 pm

      We always joked that Oldest Son would live with us forever, but he’s actually talking about buying a house. Now if he could just get a job…The two younger ones still have to finish college so we can’t kick them out yet. I won’t mind when they move out, as long as it’s close enough for me to walk to! 🙂

  6. 10 sheribear9202 February 22, 2009 at 11:56 pm

    Hopefully I can persuade Oldest Son to start saving some money and help him with the house choosing process…We just need to keep him on his toes. =D

  7. 11 mamaneeds2rant February 23, 2009 at 9:12 am

    OK. Just make sure it’s not too far away. And he’s going to have to quit going out to eat so much–or at least use the coupons I’m always trying to push off on you guys!


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 170,431 hits


