Winter Funk

The winter funk has settled in.  It usually hits sometime in late January or early February.  With the arctic weather we’ve been having this winter, I’m surprised it didn’t hit earlier.

My brother gets it worse than me.  He actually has that Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD) where the lack of daylight seriously causes depression.  The year I turned 40, Big Daddy avoided living with the “winter funk” by planning the most wonderful all-inclusive vacation to sunny Cancun for the family.  My birthday is in December, so he planned it for mid-January.  The kids still talk about that vacation.

From visiting the blogosphere, it seems I’m not alone in this land of blah. The economy has everybody down.  It hasn’t helped that I had to starve myself for a day, and endured “alien probature” (Oldest Son’s term–and the reason he brought me home some California rolls to make me feel better).  Nor does it help that I’m forced to look at the pathetic pittance that is our portfolio because it’s necessary to do our taxes.  For the past six months, I have done everything I can to avoid looking at my stock accounts.  And now, I must confront the train wreck that our jack-ass politicians and their crooked CEO cronies engineered.

Things could be worse, however.  The alien probe found nothing amiss, and I have the sweetest most generous boys in the world.  I haven’t even finished filling in all of my deductions and already it looks like we’re getting a tax refund (I was actually a little worried this year).  I’ll be earning a paycheck again in a week or so and drinking quarts of coffee in my cozy little office.  And in my purse is a script for 6-months worth of Lexapro.  Mama loves her Lexapro.

9 Responses to “Winter Funk”


  1. 1 Consuella Banana Hammock February 6, 2009 at 2:53 am

    i have a friend who lives in wales. she bought a “happy lamp.” apparently it helps with the lack of sunlight. she turns it on, pulls out a book and catches some rays. hang in there!

  2. 2 mamaneeds2rant February 6, 2009 at 10:28 am

    Happy lamp. I like that. Catching some rays sounds so wonderful.

  3. 3 Peldyn February 6, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    Sorry! I live in Sunny California. Don’t hate me *whimper*

  4. 5 Peldyn February 6, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    I will try and will the sun to shine for you out there. You certainly deserve it after your..umm… probing this week!

  5. 7 Sheri February 7, 2009 at 8:33 am

    nothing some california rolls won’t fix…. ❤

  6. 8 So Much More Than A Mom February 7, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    Well, in my little funk I haven’t been out and about reading my fav blogs so I’m a little late to your funk party. Are we on the same page or what?!! Don’t know how the weather is in your neck of the woods today but it’s actually 50 here in IL! Funny how a little sun and peek at the grass can cheer you up…although Lexapro probably works longer. Hope we’re both defunked soon! 🙂

    • 9 mamaneeds2rant February 7, 2009 at 7:17 pm

      I am now sure the weather has to be at least 90% responsible. It’s around 50 degrees here too and I feel much better. Well, I finished my taxes and I’m getting $$ back–so that helps, too. I’d kill myself if I lived in Alaska or Siberia–no offense to the very hardy brave souls that live there.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 173,278 hits


