Giving With No Regrets

I must venture out into the frozen tundra today.  Earlier this week, when I heard the temps around here would be plunging into Arctic Circle territories, I made sure I stocked up on everything we needed so that I would not have to go any further than my mailbox at the end of my sidewalk.  But, alas, I must be a brave little butterfly and leave the warm cocoon with its roaring fire and snuggly dog.  I’ve got a job to do.

I better be right in my strong assumption that my sibs do not know about this blog — because if I’m wrong, I’m toast.  It’s not because I plan to say anything bad about them (because I do love them, as a big sister should), but I am about to divulge a secret.  My bro is having a surprise party tomorrow for my sister-in-law.  It’s one of those milestone birthdays.  I’m bringing my spectacular calico beans (at my brother’s request) and I have all the ingredients I need.  But what I do not have is the gift.  Although we don’t get extravagant around here with gifts, I certainly do not plan to show up with no card or gift for my lovely sis-in-law’s big day.

As with all my family members, sis is hard to buy for.  If  she wants or needs anything, she goes out and buys it.  She has very specific taste.  She knows what she wants, and she doesn’t clutter up her life with much else.  One thing she does enjoy is scratch-off lottery tickets.  She got $20 worth one time and was in gambler’s heaven scratching them in the hopes of revealing a big life-changing winner.  One problem with this idea is that someone else has already bought some for her.  I don’t want to be a copy-cat.  But there is a more selfish reason why I won’t go that route.  What if I buy her the BIG gazillion dollar winner?

It’s not that I would begrudge them a life of luxury.  It’s not that they wouldn’t share at least a little of the wealth.  I’d be happy to see them win.  Just not on the ticket that I bought.  If that ticket had been in my grubby little hands and I gave it away (even to a beloved family member), I would kick my ass to the other side of the country.  I still have kids in college.  Big Daddy is slowly dying working for Satan.  My kitchen is a country-blue stenciled 1980’s nightmare!  I need that winning lottery ticket!!

Since it would be just my luck that the only winning lottery ticket I ever buy would be the one I give away,  I’m just not going there.  My sister-in-law loves big bold costume jewelry.  I just hope I can find a piece that screams her name.

4 Responses to “Giving With No Regrets”


  1. 1 "J" January 18, 2009 at 7:02 am

    “I must be a brave little butterfly and leave the warm cocoon with its roaring fire and snuggly dog” hahaha cute, mom. idk if i ever considered butterflies as brave tho 🙂 and i miss that snuggly dog too!

  2. 3 Paula January 18, 2009 at 7:33 pm

    I have often felt the same way…Would I be happy and stand back or would I grab the ticket and run for the door..? I don’t want to have to place myself in that position. LOL

  3. 4 So Much More Than A Mom January 21, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    My family and I feel the same way. We all LOVE to get scratch-off tickets as gifts but don’t want to end up resenting the fact that we made someone else wealthy (even a beloved family member) so we make sure to buy the $1 tickets with $500 or so max payouts. Plus, the odds of winning those are better.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 171,894 hits


