Stay, Stay With Me

When I was a teen, I couldn’t wait to move out of my parents’ apartment.  It was not good for my psyche.  There was a lot of bitching and nagging, and it wasn’t a healthy place for building self esteem.  Luckily, after working for a year and deciding that yes, maybe I did want to go to college, I moved into the dorms and didn’t have to deal too much with the drama that was home.  By that time, my wonderful Italian grandma had moved into the apartment upstairs. It had an extra bedroom, so that even home on break, I stayed up there with her.  It was the first time in my life I actually had my own room.

With my own kids, it’s different.  Even though we sometimes get on each other’s nerves, I have no real desire to see them move out right away.  First of all, unless they’re going to buy their own place and (maybe) build some equity, I don’t see the point of paying a landlord for a probably inferior living space.  We have plenty of space here.  It’s a better use of resources, and certainly more cost efficient for them even if they pay us the token amount of rent we plan to charge them once they can no longer be claimed as dependents on our tax return.  My boss had all of his kids live with him until they got married.  They built up decent nest eggs with which to start their new lives.  Despite the fact that he drinks up all my iced tea and V8, I also enjoyed having Oldest Son around today.  He earned his keep by:

Shoveling all the snow from the sidewalk and driveway.

Taking out the trash.

Telling me my blog was epic. (Yes, he not only reads it, he likes it).

Helping me with computer tasks.  Not only did he help me, he bookmarked a site where I could become more proficient in HTML and something even more current–but obviously I haven’t read it yet or I would know what it’s called.

He helped the older lady across the street with her computer problems — and has helped other elderly neighbors with yard work, etc.  They usually pay him, but he would do it anyways.  He’s just that kind of guy.

Heartily enjoyed the new lentil soup recipe I made today.  He even had seconds after he was done working out.

And…told me we were going to do our leg workout again tomorrow.  I’ve been “forgetting” about it the past few times, but I really need to keep up with it.

Yes, remember kids.  There’s no place like home.  Just don’t leave a mess.

6 Responses to “Stay, Stay With Me”


  1. 1 Consuella Banana Hammock January 13, 2009 at 2:31 am

    somedays i feel like this, want my kids to be with me forever. other days, well even though they are only 3 & 5, i am ready for them to be on their own! i am hoping it will get better as they get older.

    • 2 mamaneeds2rant January 13, 2009 at 9:32 am

      Oh, trust me. The pendulum swings both ways. There have been many days when I couldn’t WAIT to have my house back all to myself (and hubby). Hang in there. Once they’re in school, at least you’ll get a break!

  2. 3 Emily January 13, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    i’m with banana hammock up there…

  3. 4 So Much More Than A Mom January 13, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    I agree, they can stay as long as they want!

  4. 5 sheri January 14, 2009 at 9:37 am

    i’m so glad oldest son isn’t just loafing around. It would be a little depressing to know that he spends ALL his time on the computer. …maybe we can slowly change him to leave less of a mess around both our houses…HA!


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 170,404 hits


