A Year and A Day ~ Hooray Hooray!

Between dealing with night sweats and dry sockets (yes, Youngest Son was one of the lucky ones), I plum forgot about my bloggy anniversary yesterday!

I started this blog a full year ago, 1/5/08.  It wasn’t much of a post.  I basically just set up the site and promised to write something good later.  It was late and I was tired.

It was fate.  I was restless.  I’ve always been a better writer than speaker, and I needed an outlet.  Idiots were pissing me off!  Corrupt politicians who steal from honest hard-working taxpayers, airhead celebrities that think it’s cool to badmouth America yet shamelessly reap the rewards this land of opportunity provides, and other garden variety creeps were all maxing out my stress levels.  On top of it all, my oldest son was soon to be deployed to Iraq.  Double stress.  My two younger sons would soon be heading back to college, and tax season (my busiest season of the year) was on the horizon.  I wanted to vent.  And I wanted a place where my sons could check in and see that mama’s still the same old crazy broad she always was.  I wanted to give them a warm and fuzzy sense of home.

Then I saw an article by Kim Komando about how to set up a blog.  She recommended Blogger or WordPress.  I checked them out and made my choice.  Then I ignored it for over a week.  Once I started writing, however, I was hooked.

Blogging is my kind of writing.  There are no manuscript formats to follow.  I can say what I want without fear of censorship.  I can even be politically incorrect.  If I’m feeling lazy, there are no deadlines to deal with.  Best of all, I’ve enjoyed sharing my thoughts with other interesting people throughout the blogosphere.  I have been entertained immensely and learned quite a bit from reading other people’s blogs.  An enterprising young man, Cheru Jackson, has made it even easier for us bloggers to find like-minded individuals.  I have found a few super cool sites and gained a few readers from his recent creation, Alpha Inventions.

Hope to still see you all next year at this time.  As always, thanks for stopping by.

4 Responses to “A Year and A Day ~ Hooray Hooray!”


  1. 1 somuchmorethanamom January 6, 2009 at 11:30 am

    Happy Anniversary!! I agree with everything you said about why blogging is such a great writing forum. Complete freedom.

  2. 3 Emily January 6, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    happy blogiversary!

  3. 4 Lesley Dewar January 13, 2009 at 1:12 am

    I saw your comment on the Alphainventions.com site and thought you might have some tips and ideas to share with us http://is.gd/fDE3
    It is a great site and in fact part of its strength is the fact that the more you bump, the worse off you are.

    More than that, once you are recognised by Alphainventions, they send you traffic because you update your site – not because you keep resubmitting or you are an AIID subscriber. I have done a lot of statistical analysis on this and have the numbers to prove it.

    For me, the great thing about Alphainventions.com is that it keeps sending traffic to my site and using the referral back links I can visit those people. That is real value for blogging and building traffic.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 173,275 hits


