Is It Two-Thirty?

Nah, more like gum hurt-y. (I know, that was SO bad).  Youngest Son was actually starting to feel better last night, hours after his wisdom teeth extraction.  In fact, the thing that was bothering him most last night before bedtime was the fact that he had finally gotten his appetite back big time and wanted something besides soup and pudding to eat.  He was craving big steaks and crunchy foods–anything he could sink his teeth into and CHEW.  Of course, his mouth isn’t ready for that yet.

Meanwhile, I have honed my Jell-o making skills.  I don’t even have to look at the box anymore to see how much water to add (1 cup boiling, stir for 2 minutes, 1 cup cold).  I could be a Jell-o chef.  I don’t know why I don’t make it more often.  We all like it and it’s easy.  I think it’s the instant gratification thing.  You have to wait freaking 4 hours until it’s ready to eat.

This morning, Youngest Son’s face was puffy again and the pain pills were making him sleep a lot.  Last night, he was telling us he could actually remember some of the surgery!  They don’t actually put you all the way under, but the pain control must be pretty good.  Youngest Son said he could vaguely remember trying to swat the guy away from his mouth telling him to get away.  Big Daddy, in the waiting room, could hear the drill being used.  They said they had a hard time with one of the teeth.  It must be the one that Youngest Son remembers the dentist saying, “Gotcha,” as he pulled it out.

Kind of creeps me out.  Definitely makes me glad I never developed those teeth.  Youngest Son actually kept the ugly things.  It’s amazing how big they are even though they never erupted through the gums.  Like, they must start growing down in your throat.

I hope Youngest Son is able to eat normal food again soon.  Leftovers are starting to back up a little, and I’m having to store his Jell-o in the fridge downstairs because we’re running out of room.

8 Responses to “Is It Two-Thirty?”


  1. 2 John and Perla January 5, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    Hail to the Jell-O queen!

    I think there’s something about adding ice cubes that makes it set quicker.

    “Leftovers are starting to back up a little” <– That’s funny!

  2. 3 "J" January 5, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    “Nah, more like gum hurt-y.” ..i think you meant ‘TOOTH hurt-y’.. not gum.. nice try tho mom! and to be honest getting them out didnt hurt AT ALL. no joke haha it just sucks cuz you cant eat!

  3. 4 mamaneeds2rant January 5, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    to John & Perla–I heard about the ice thing, too but…I didn’t want to endanger my newly acquired Jell-o making skills by adding too much ice–like, how can you substitute a cup of cold water for a cup of ice cubes? I would totally end up with soggy Jell-o.

  4. 5 mamaneeds2rant January 5, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    to J. 1. It’s gum hurt-y because the teeth are gone. Get it?

    2. Getting teeth pulled hurts most people ALOT from what I hear. Just not super macho muscle hunks like yourself, I guess.

  5. 6 "S" January 5, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    ha actually my other teeth do hurt for some reason so maybe j might be right for once in his life

  6. 7 "J" January 6, 2009 at 1:57 am

    ..im always right.

  7. 8 somuchmorethanamom January 6, 2009 at 11:34 am

    You Jell-O Goddess! Yuck, hubby and I both have been lucky enough to never have to have ours removed. Hopefully my little guys won’t either. I’ve had friends with utter horror stories.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 170,404 hits


