Mama Rules As Always

Big Daddy is heading off to the airport right now.  Last night, Middle Son J’s friend Kathy stayed with us so that we could get her to the airport today.  She is joining J in Germany and I’m so glad he’ll have someone from home to enjoy New Year’s Eve with him.

Like always, whenever we have a captive visitor, Youngest Son convinced them to play Scrabble with us.  He knows it’s only a rare fluke when he can beat me, so he has to include at least one other person so he has a chance of not coming in last.  (He will tell a completely different story–like, say, that he usually wins).  Poor Kathy was almost dozing off — it was well after midnight — but we informed her that she could not quit until the game was over and a victor (me) was crowned.

For some reason, Big Daddy will set up the game table in the family room for us, but he always declines to join us in our Scrabble games.  Same with Oldest Son, who by the way, has the highest IQ of anyone I know.  Maybe they don’t have the competitive spirit of me and Youngest Son.  Maybe they’re just scared.  Oldest Son sent me this funny e-mail today as his excuse for not playing with us.  (But I still think he’s just scared!).

12 Responses to “Mama Rules As Always”


  1. 1 "S" December 27, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    haha yeah i dont know why you feel the need to lie to everyone on the web…i am and always was the champion…and just so everyone knows the only reason she beat me is because i (who was winning the whole game) started easing up at the end because i didnt see the 36 point word on the third to last turn coming

  2. 2 mamaneeds2rant December 27, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    Hey, “S”. Don’t CRY about it. Mwahaha.

  3. 3 "J" December 28, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    “youngest son” youre a dbag dont copy me with my “J” haha

  4. 4 "J" December 28, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    …and i forgot to add… everytime.. EVERY TIME that i played both you guys i came in FIRST! and i am not even joking to anyone that reads this haha real shit.

  5. 5 mamaneeds2rant December 29, 2008 at 10:58 am

    Can you say “Beginner’s Luck?” haha. Cuz you only played us like twice. And now you’re…scared. Luv ya! 🙂

  6. 6 Kathy December 30, 2008 at 7:57 am

    Hahaha awe you guys are so cute! 🙂 And hopefully next time I come play scrabble, I’m going to be a little more prepared.

  7. 7 "S" December 30, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    haha hey “gay j” where do you think i got the idea? only a flaming douchebag would think of that…im sry you didnt realize i was making fun of you hahaha jk but ya you definitely did not win EVERYTIME and kathy…i wouldnt count on it ha jk again

  8. 8 Chris December 31, 2008 at 1:18 am

    Oh, gods. You guys are scoring a notch above Youtube comments.

  9. 9 Sheri December 31, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    OMG!!! I almost died when I read this. There’s a funny story that goes back to the days that Chris was in Iraq. We started talking about families, and he told me that if you ever invited me to play Scrabble, that I should accept for brownie points. I love the game anyway, so it wouldn’t have been too much of an inconvenience. Anyway, I asked Chris if you would be upset with words that weren’t really… kosher, and he asked for an explanation. I went on to ask if I had a word such as Clitoris…. and he told me that if I had the tiles for it, then play it. It’s never left my memory, and had to share it with you.

  10. 10 John and Perla January 2, 2009 at 2:58 am

    Can anyone say ‘competitive’?

  11. 11 somuchmorethanamom January 2, 2009 at 10:43 am

    OMG – that cartoon is freakin’ hilarious!

    And frankly, I’M scared to play with you two just hearing about it. 🙂

  12. 12 mamaneeds2rant January 2, 2009 at 6:09 pm

    Not to worry, somuchmore. Other than prying their eyes open and strapping them to their chair until the game is finished, we’re quite hospitable to our guest players.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 173,336 hits


