Super Evolved Mom Screws Up

Crap.  I feel like a screw-up.  But it’s not entirely my fault, I tell ya.

Youngest Son is moaning about his jaw hurting.  Even more disturbing for this craver of perfection, he feels like one of his teeth is being pushed out of alignment.  Sadly, I may be somewhat responsible.

His dentist said a couple years ago that he would need his wisdom teeth out.  Well, this is just par for the course around here.  A few years ago, I took Oldest Son to get his out.  It was probably quite a sight to see little old me leading my loopy lanky son to the car afterwards, he being a foot taller than me.  Then, this April, I believe, Middle Son J got his out.  I don’t remember much about that because Big Daddy took him.  I do remember the very day after surgery, however, when J, never one to be messed with, went out with a friend to possibly fight someone that was messing with him by sending annoying texts.  Thankfully, no one showed up.  Maybe his surgery added to his overkill of testosterone?

It’s hard to find time to schedule appointments around here.  Between people’s surgeries, physical therapy, deployments, and social lives, it’s hard to find a spare window of time for yet another appointment.  Youngest Son just had knee surgery last summer.  And he juggled three jobs this past summer.  What’s a mom to do?

Our very well-read regular dentist explained to me on one of my semi-annual visits about wisdom teeth.  He said in ancient times, with a much coarser diet, we humans needed those teeth.  As our diets became more processed, we slowly evolved to the point where our jaws grew smaller and the wisdom teeth became unnecessary.  That’s why just about everybody you know needs to get them removed.

Lucky for me, being the advanced super-evolved specimen of humanity, I never even got my wisdom teeth.  There’s nothing even there under the gum line.  Nothing.  Nada.  So today, super mom of the future will be taking her Youngest Son to see the dentist about getting his wisdom teeth pulled ASAP.  I’m hoping he’ll be able to do the surgery before winter break ends in mid-January.

7 Responses to “Super Evolved Mom Screws Up”


  1. 1 goodmum December 18, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    Oh man. I hope he gets a date for the extraction soon!

  2. 2 mamaneeds2rant December 19, 2008 at 12:16 am

    Whew! I’ve been redeemed. Doc will do it day after new years!

  3. 3 iowacompact December 19, 2008 at 11:40 am

    Seriously though, it’s news like this that gives me hope. Totally awesome, and real!

  4. 4 Sheribear9202 December 22, 2008 at 8:43 am

    I’m just like you, Mom.. i never got my wisdom teeth.

  5. 6 "J" December 23, 2008 at 8:02 am

    um… yeah right mom. haha

  6. 7 John and Perla January 2, 2009 at 2:48 am

    Yeah, only men need a tooth to prove that they got their wisdom.

    “Hey look! I got my wisdom teeth, man”

    “Wow your teeth are big, you must have a lot of wisdom, man.”

    “They pulled my teeth, bro. I still got the wisdom; and I was brave enough for an extraction, too.”

    “Whoa, dude. You rock.”


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 169,818 hits


