The Halo Has Some Tarnish

I’m a nice person.  I’m even a good and somewhat spiritual person.  I know that about myself.  I’m incensed over unfairness of any kind.  I’m deeply hurt and saddened when I see someone suffering, especially innocent helpless people or animals.  I try not to hurt anyone and never pick a fight.   But, obviously, I don’t have a halo like Big Daddy.  He’s a good guy, no doubt.  I wouldn’t have it any other way.  I’ve dated a few jerks, but I never would have stayed with one.

Even way back in college, my friends and roommates would take his side if we had a spat.  My own family has been known to ask me, “What did you to poor <Big Daddy>?” if they happen to see him moping.  Sometimes he’s generous to a fault.  We’ve been known to get stuck ourselves at a red light because he’s let other people go.  He’s never passed a donation box without dropping something in, even if he just gave at the last corner.  I don’t even give anymore because I’m so sure he’s given more than enough for me, himself, and all three of our kids.  He’s got karma points coming out the wazoo.

He’s a good guy, yes.  But I’ve lived with him long enough to know he’s not perfect.  Give him a Wet Willie and you might end up on your arse.  Just ask his co-workers.  And the past couple days, he’s been getting the biggest kick out of the pain I’m in.  Oldest Son and I have started back up with the weight training.  We worked our legs the other day, and I can hardly manage the stairs.  I wince in pain when I have to sit down.  And Big Daddy has actually been laughing about it.  A quite evil little sadistic chuckle.

I know he loves me.  Well, at least I’m sure he likes me.  So why, I ask him, do you think this is so funny?

“I know that feeling,” he laughs.  Okay.  So you should know how bad this hurts!!  Where,  oh saintly Big Daddy, is the sympathy?

13 Responses to “The Halo Has Some Tarnish”


  1. 1 Kate December 11, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    Just remember, and keep repeating to yourself….this is a laugh of empathy….he’s laughing in empathy….he’s….

    SMACK!

    🙂

  2. 3 goodmum December 11, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    It’s good to know that my angelic hubby isn’t the only one with a little bit of tarnish on his halo. It keeps them honest. Or something… 😉

  3. 4 Sheribear9202 December 12, 2008 at 9:39 am

    HAHA… amen to that.. =D

    In the same respect, Mom, I’ve been acting the same way to Oldest Son. He’s been sore out the wazoo, and I’ve been a little mean… Does that necessarily make me a bad person? Or does that mean I have to start working out so he can make fun of me too…? =P

  4. 5 mamaneeds2rant December 12, 2008 at 9:56 am

    Misery loves company, Sheri.

  5. 6 somuchmorethanamom December 12, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    Maybe I’m nuts, but I love that feeling…the pain after a good workout. It’s my way of knowing that I did it right.

  6. 7 mamaneeds2rant December 12, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    I must have done it right, then. Ouch!

  7. 8 robinaltman December 12, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    I have to admit that I have a sadistic streak. I can relate to Big Daddy. Sometimes horrible things tickle my funny bone, and I know it’s awful, but I just want to crack up. It’s the worst when it’s with my kids. I think the thought that I’m supposed to be really nice and supportive when I actually think something is funny, makes me laugh all the more.

    • 9 mamaneeds2rant December 12, 2008 at 4:43 pm

      okay–now that you put it that way, Robin, I guess I too have laughed when people stumble over their own feet or whatever. And I sometimes get a kick out of “torturing” my kids.

  8. 10 Sheribear9202 December 12, 2008 at 4:49 pm

    now why would you want to do something like that….?? that’s tainting you “super cool mom” image! =P

  9. 11 Chris December 13, 2008 at 7:50 am

    Don’t believe her lies! She lives to torture us! XD

  10. 12 John and Perla January 2, 2009 at 2:35 am

    Why does Big Daddy never comment?

    • 13 mamaneeds2rant January 2, 2009 at 7:34 pm

      I think he’s probably afraid to give me more ammo to write about. Or maybe he wants to pretend he’s not checking to see if I’ve blogged about him. Would you like to comment on that, Big Daddy?


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 171,921 hits


