I Thought I Might Get Rich

We had snow on the ground for a few days.  I’m not fond of snow.  It’s cold, makes walking and driving hazardous, and limits my shoe choices.  But the one advantage it does have is that it covers the mud in our yard that covers the paws of our dog whenever she goes out to pee.

I have spent — no lie — a good 10 minutes each time she goes out digging dirt and mud out of her little toenails.  We even got an empty coffee container, filled it with water, and dipped each paw in it before we wiped them with an old towel.  Part of the problem is she doesn’t just go out to pee.  She has to run around like a maniac, lunging at delivery trucks or people walking up the street while tied up in the front yard.  So the mud gets ground into her little paws in every crease and crevice.

Big Daddy and I brainstormed for a solution to this problem.  Who wants to stand on a cold porch several times a day digging mud from a pet’s paws?  He mentioned that she needed boots or something that we could remove.  The next day, I dug out some old socks and put them on the dog before I released her into the yard.  I thought we were pretty darn clever, maybe onto a marketable idea.

Well, the little angel had no problem with me putting the socks on.  But unfortunately, they didn’t stay on for long.  The back two came off before I even tied her up.  The front socks ended up laying in the front yard where she lost them after freaking out over the mail lady.  I was thinking about ways to improve on the idea by maybe making fasteners on the foot covers when Oldest Son’s friend, Sheri, mentioned that you could buy little booties with velcro fasteners at the pet store.  What a great idea.  Why don’t I think of these things first??

Sky in socks

Sky in socks

8 Responses to “I Thought I Might Get Rich”


  1. 1 onlinepastrychef December 9, 2008 at 11:18 am

    Sorry your entrepreneurial dreams were crushed! Found you on Alpha Inventions–I’ve been enjoying your posts; congrats on your “manly award” 🙂

  2. 2 mamaneeds2rant December 9, 2008 at 11:21 am

    Thanks chef. Alpha Inventions is so awesome! I’ll have to check out your site–but will it ruin my diet??

  3. 3 Sheri December 9, 2008 at 11:42 am

    see…. I knew I was handy for something.. even Chris says that I’m filled with a bunch of random knowledge. I guess I’m good to have around for conversation starters…=P

  4. 4 "J" December 9, 2008 at 2:53 pm

    “Big Daddy and I brainstormed for a solution to this problem. He mentioned that she needed boots or something that we could remove.” hahahaha. fuckin skyler 🙂

  5. 5 Emily December 9, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    she must be so embarrassed around the other dogs.

  6. 6 somuchmorethanamom December 10, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    Wow, you do love your dog! That pic is hilarious.

  7. 7 iowacompact December 16, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    Your contribution to man’s best friend is huge. I’m taking your advice!

  8. 8 mamaneeds2rant December 16, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    Thank you, Iowa. I’m glad you recognize the importance of this well-thought out idea. I do suggest you use some kind of fastener, though. Those little legs do not hold up socks very well.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 171,921 hits


