A Whole Lot of Freaking Nothing Going On

Crap.  It’s not been a good day so far.

I thought I could get a lot of catch-up work done today.  I Christmas shopped and bought groceries yesterday.  My house is still relatively clean from the big holiday clean-up.  So I planned to stay home today and get some paperwork done and finally post some cool pictures on my blog.

Well, I’ve spent hours so far trying to figure out why the damn computer won’t recognize the connection to my camera.  Therefore, no pics today.  And now, I’m too concerned to write about what I was planning to post.

I can’t locate Soldier Son.  Neither can the girl who had an appointment with him today to get some new patches sewn onto his dress uniform.

He told Big Daddy where he was going last night.  He even told him he may not be home because if he was drinking, he didn’t want to drive.  I didn’t know this until this morning when I looked in his room and noticed he was not around.  He’s 24 years old, so this is not all that unusual.  I’m not about to micromanage another adult’s life, even if it is my kid.  I can barely manage my own life at times.  However, I still worry.

I texted him around noon to ask for some technical assistance and of course to ask if he was still alive.  No answer.  I still wasn’t too worried because the absent-minded genius that he is, he may not even have his phone turned on.  But I was starting to worry.  He meets random people on-line.  He’s met some good friends that way.  Most of them are female.  Some of them live far away.  He’s even driven (good God,  he made a wrong turn into Camden NJ, crime capital of the USA once) and flown to visit some of these peeps and luckily he’s alive to tell the tales. We warn and advise him but legally we can’t stop him. You know, those darn kidnapping laws.

The chicky he partied with last night lives nearby.  I met her once briefly.  But the few things I know about her send up red flags.  She’s a decade older than him.  She lives in a house full of random people.  I’m getting visions of him tied up and robbed somewhere.  Or already dead.  You know how a mother’s imagination can take flight. I’m seeing headlines, “MAN SURVIVES WAR. KILLED AT HOME.” Or something like that.

Then the girl he had the appointment with called me looking for him.  Now we’re both worried.

Forward ahead an hour.  MIA Son is located.  Girl #2 has rescheduled appointment.  And I’ve just spent another 20 minutes trying to get this post written.  I hit something, I don’t know what, that turned all my letters into some Arabic looking script.  And I couldn’t get the freak out of it!  I copied and pasted the English portion of this post to a new document, saved it, and rebooted the whole damn system.

Why did I even wake up this morning?

10 Responses to “A Whole Lot of Freaking Nothing Going On”


  1. 1 Emily December 4, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    good heavens. i’m glad you found him.

  2. 2 mamaneeds2rant December 4, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    You and me both, Emily. Now if only I could get my day back.

  3. 3 Kate December 4, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    I think you need to blow off the rest of the day…curl up with a good book, and let the world survive without ya for a few hours. You need some serious recharging! 🙂

    He might be 24, but he’s still under your roof, so he needs to show his mom some respect and at least pick up the phone. Well, that’s what my mom told me, when I stayed with her for a bit, and I told my grown daughter the same thing. My house, my rules type thing. We don’t need the stress! 🙂

  4. 4 Sheribear9202 December 4, 2008 at 7:25 pm

    Girl #2 has a name, ya know… =P

  5. 5 Chris December 4, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    Hey now. I always silence my phone when I sleep. People used to call me at 3 AM every single night, despite how often I told them not to, and so I decided missing a few calls was better than killing everyone around me with an axe ’cause i was grumpy. =)

  6. 6 mamaneeds2rant December 4, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    umm, yeah. But it was well after NOON.

  7. 7 somuchmorethanamom December 5, 2008 at 11:35 am

    God, it never ends does it? The worrying I mean. He survived a war, he’s 24, and still when he went MIA you were afraid something bad had happened. I don’t blame you one bit, I would have felt the same way. This post just really hits me because my kids are only 8 & 10 and reading this made me realize how no matter how old they get or what they go through, I will always worry. And…I’m happy he resurfaced! 🙂

  8. 8 mamaneeds2rant December 5, 2008 at 11:50 am

    Nope. It never ends. For better or worse (and usually it’s for better) you’re always a mom. 🙂

  9. 9 Computer Help Baton Rouge December 9, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    I haven’t done any Christmas shopping or thinking at all yet. You should consider yourself lucky.

  10. 10 mamaneeds2rant December 9, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    Whoa, Baton Rouge. You are kind of living on the edge there. I get kinda nervous waiting too long!


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 171,861 hits


