Life Sucks and Then You Die

I’ve been thinking about that big juicy 20+ pound turkey all week. “Let’s make a bunch of extra stuffing,” I said to Big Daddy this week.  That’s my fave.  I ran out in the freaking cold weather Tuesday to pick up lots of bread and other goodies we might need to make a sumptuous meal.  I spent days swiffering up all the little dust bunnies that accumulate in between my holiday house cleanings.  I could almost smell that juicy bird roasting.

Then last night, I started feeling a scratchy throat.  Must be all those dust bunnies getting scattered through the air and then caught up in the airways.  Not to worry.  No runny nose, no sniffles.  I still had a working set of taste buds.  On Thanksgiving Day, that’s the key.

As you’ve probably guessed by now, I am sniffling.  And jamming tissues up my nose to stop the water works.  I’ve choked on gobs of mucus and squirted pee when I sneeze.  Ladies with kids, you know what I mean.

Yeah, it’s still a holiday.  A warm and fuzzy day to spend with the folks.  Who cares about the rest, you might be saying.

But it’s THANKSGIVING!  All you get is a feast!  A feast you’ve been waiting for for weeks!  There are no presents to ease the sore throat pain.  There are no fireworks to ooh and ahh over.  No candy to save for later.  That turkey will be long gone before I’ll be able to properly savor it.  Aaaargghhh!

So, yeah.  Happy Thanksgiving, America.  And have fun shopping Black Friday.  I’ll be sleeping in my bed all day.

5 Responses to “Life Sucks and Then You Die”


  1. 1 Sheribear9202 November 27, 2008 at 10:45 am

    I’m sorry you’re sick…. stuffing is my favorite too!!!

    …and i know about the pee too XD

  2. 3 "J" November 27, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    well at least you had a thanksgiving mom! >:O haha feel better tho 🙂

  3. 4 Kathleen November 27, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    Leave it to J to keep it real… Sorry you’re not feeling well – I love reading your blogs – you make me laugh, think and cry. Hope you had a Happy Thanksgiving anyway and you feel better soon.

  4. 5 mamaneeds2rant November 27, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    Thanks guys. Big Daddy gave me a dose of Sinex spray so I could taste everything and now I’m vegged on the couch with some hot tea and honey. Still feel like crap–but not as bad as I thought. We missed you J–especially when we got your sad little text. xoxoxo


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 170,431 hits


