We Were Good Parents–Honest!

We’re frantically cleaning the house trying to get ready for the holidays.  While straightening up the other night, Big Daddy came across an ancient bit of handiwork created by Soldier Son many moons ago.  I don’t know if you’ll be able to decipher everything it says due to scan quality, so I’ll help out:

On Grounded Boy's Bedroom Door

On Grounded Boy

I’m pretty sure this was hung on his bedroom door after one of the many times Big Daddy had to ground him.  We didn’t have the wisdom of Jo the Supernanny back in the day so we didn’t use a “naughty corner.”  We sent them to their rooms (which was no real punishment for our oldest son since it was loaded with books and creative toys with which to make booby traps).  I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this yet, but Soldier Son (my oldest) was quite a challenge at times.  When he was tested for the gifted program at his school in kindergarten, they sent me a note home saying that he’d tested beyond what their test went up to–which was somewhere in the 150’s.  So believe me, if you think your kids are a challenge, try living with a quirky genius who was born smarter than his parents!  This was probably created in early elementary school era.

Now believe me, we didn’t tolerate disrespect.  At least not to our faces.  But you gotta let a kid vent lest he grow up to be some psycho killer.  So we endured the abuse and giggled about it out of earshot.  The picture is probably meant to be some computer generated voodoo doll of Big Daddy. In red, in the top left corner is lovingly printed: “No pathetic losers! (that means you, dad!).”  He had made a label with his little label maker we’d bought him that says “SACRED RELIC” which he handprinted…Dad is a non SACRED RELIC under the voodoo doll.  In gold marker which is barely distinguishable, he vents, “My dad needs a brutal beating”.  Yeah.  And this probably wasn’t one of the times that he actually tried to rig his door so that something would fall down on us when we entered.  See why I’m half nuts?

The kids still aren’t done torturing us.  Middle Son J texted Big Daddy last night to tell him the great news–that he’d just gotten tatt #9!  Great!  Will there be any unmarked skin left on his body?  Will I even recognize him next time I see him, or will he just be a big freaking giant tattoo?

19 Responses to “We Were Good Parents–Honest!”


  1. 1 heartache heartburn November 20, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    That is great! My oldest is 15 and made a similar sign for her door when she was in 1st grade. She drew a picture of a mom and then circled it and crossed it out. It made me laugh when I saw that no mommies were allowed. She is no where near a genius, but this was one time she was too smart for her own good for sure!

    9 tattoos…wow!

  2. 2 mamaneeds2rant November 20, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    I’m glad to know we’re not alone. Kids…ya gotta love them.

  3. 3 Sheri November 20, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    LMAO… just to think I’m friends with a genius…

  4. 4 "J" November 20, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    hahahahahaha i remember that sign!! haha funny shit. and dont worry mom i just got to finish the half sleeve and get one more that ive had planned for a while and im set haha

  5. 5 sheribear9202 November 20, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    tattoos are addicting though J… I’m on my third… my father has 12 or 13… i guess it runs in the family

  6. 7 sheribear9202 November 20, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    did i just feed the fire….??? :-/

  7. 8 sheribear9202 November 20, 2008 at 11:01 pm

    after looking at this amazing artwork… i realized that it was printed on the old ribbon printers… OH THE MEMORIES!!!! =P

  8. 9 mamaneeds2rant November 21, 2008 at 12:47 am

    Oh, yeah. All hail dot matrix.

  9. 10 CUS Publicity Chair November 21, 2008 at 10:26 am

    Too, too funny. For son #2 I recommend googling images of old people with tatoos that are no longer recognizable because time and gravity have taken their toll. Hey- it might work!

    ~Cussie

  10. 11 mamaneeds2rant November 21, 2008 at 10:28 am

    Yes! I’ve warned him about that–but a pic might do the trick!

  11. 12 Sheri November 21, 2008 at 10:33 am

    Pictures may help, but it’s more of the rush of being young. I have mine in places that will never stretch. Gravity won’t have much of an effect where I have mine. It really depends where they’re placed. Mine are on my shoulder and my foot, so I know I can easily cover them for teaching, and unless my feet melt or some freak acident happens, I don’t think I’ll have a problem with my tattoos… my chest on the other hand… well, that’s another story in itself. =P

  12. 14 "J" November 21, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    haha nah it wont work.. the ink they got now is better quality and will fade a LOT less.. plus they look real good now, when im young, who cares when i get older haha jk .. but all mine are well thought out and look awesome i mean, im not doin anything like THIS guy http://img206.imageshack.us/img206/8121/deathheadln5.jpg haha what a dbag.. and there are ones worse than this out there i just figured id share this one haha

  13. 15 sheribear9202 November 21, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    Thanks J… LOL!!! I started looking up really bad tattoo pictures. At least ours are in good taste. =P

  14. 16 John and Perla November 22, 2008 at 8:49 am

    @J That guy has dirt in his ears. Believe it or not, that bothers me more than the tats…ok just as much as…ok maybe not, nevermind

    @mama That pic looks like the symbol for the artist formerly known as the artist formerly known as prince. Isn’t it?

  15. 17 mamaneeds2rant November 22, 2008 at 10:37 am

    Don’t know there John & Perla. Will have to ask the artist himself if he remembers–when I see him. Which, by the way, will be tomorrow afternoon! Yay!

  16. 18 Chris November 24, 2008 at 12:10 am

    Explanation:

    Yes, that is “The Artist”. I had printed it out and hung it on my door ’cause I thought it was a cool symbol, I couldn’t believe that it was actually represented as a character on the old cd-rom encyclopedia, and that i generally support actions such as changing one’s name to something unpronounceable.

    The label is from when Harry came over and we made labels like that and “Ancient Piece Of Crap” and stuck them on various old things, like the laptop that was made when Windows 3.1 was cutting-edge technology. And then I suppose Dad angered me and so I defaced the sign for the sake of spite.

    I have no idea how I remembered all that.

  17. 19 "S" November 25, 2008 at 11:58 pm

    Yeah so i just wanted to say that a) i remember this sign and i think its hilarious b) so was that guys face and c) i dont see anything about me torturing you so youre welcome…


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 171,893 hits


