On Morality: Pregnant Dads and Such

We’ve seen the headlines.  We may have even watched the Barbara Walters special on the “man” that gave birth.  Actually, the man used to be a woman who is now legally transgendered.  But he kept his female reproductive organs–and I guess some other equipment, because I read where the baby actually came out the non-surgical way.  He is now married to a woman that had a hysterectomy and they wanted to start a family of their own.  So the man with the uterus (or is it the woman with the facial hair?) did what they had to do to have a baby.

Other than the yuck factor of seeing a pregnant man, I really didn’t have a problem with this.  Although I strongly favor conservative laissez-faire fiscal policies (the market WILL regulate itself way better than any governmental interference), I am very liberal when it comes to lifestyle issues.  As long as people live their lives in a way that does not hurt anyone, I’m OK with it.  I think the heart of morality is treating others the way you would want to be treated.  Two consenting adults should be allowed to choose their own lifestyle; there is no victim here.  Exploiting a child, however, is never OK.  People may quote from whatever religious book they were taught to follow but nobody really knows for sure what makes up a “moral” lifestyle.  Everyone knows, however, that it is morally wrong to intentionally hurt someone.

But then Big Daddy mentioned something that I hadn’t thought of.  What about the child?  Is this gonna really mess with her head someday?  Being that no secret was kept on the extraordinary circumstances of her birth, will she be teased and tortured mercilessly?  Lord knows, kids will torture other kids for much less than this.  Would you feel like a freak knowing that your dad gave birth to you?  Is this child a victim?

I usually know exactly where I stand on an issue.  But using my own criteria of what’s right and what’s wrong, I’m not sure on this one.  Were the parents being selfish by subjecting a child to such a strange legacy?  Or is this just another type of family?  If anyone has any thoughts on this, I’d appreciate hearing from you.

11 Responses to “On Morality: Pregnant Dads and Such”


  1. 1 sheribear9202 November 17, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    This is a very different circumstance, and I agree whole heartedly with you. I personally couldn’t deal with it, but it’s not my decision to make. As a future educator, I’m more worried about this little girl’s mental state and her emotions as she grows from a little girl into a young woman, and if she will need psychiatric help when she get older. It saddens me that there is a possibility of her getting harrassed and picked on.

  2. 2 Emily November 17, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    it is just another type of family — except — by publicizing it, they have created a time bomb. there was no reason for the publicity that will later haunt the children.

  3. 3 sheribear9202 November 17, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    Honestly though… people are going to agree/disagree on this topic for many reasons. One main reason is how they view other topics such as homosexuality. I’m not gonna get on my soapbox and rant, but it’s not fair to us when our opinions and views are shut down and made to feel inferior.

    People tend to think that I’m completely ignorant simply because of my age, and that simply is NOT the case. There are many views to consider when there is a touchy subject like this post. There are many MANY views and opinions.

    Personally, I’m looking at this through the daughter’s point of view because I was picked on severely from 2nd grade on. High school was hell for me. I love being at college because I’m away from most of the drama of high school. I know that for me, getting picked on and harrassed in school lowered my self-esteem, and my inner beauty. To this day, I do not accept compliments well, simply because I rarely heard them growing up. Plus, as a future educator, I have to look out for those at risk of harrassment.

    Some can take this from a family point of view and see nothing wrong with it. Some can view it as a new beginning for the father(mother)… I don’t know… there are just many views to consider, and none of them are less important.

  4. 4 mamaneeds2rant November 17, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    Thanks Emily and Sheri for your viewpoints. I don’t think I would have a problem with the whole issue if it hadn’t been so public because the child may not have been victimized. Of course, I’m sure it would be difficult to hide the fact that a man was carrying around a fetus, but there are privacy laws regarding health care and I would have kept a very low profile. I certainly would not expose my family on TV or put my face out there on a magazine cover.

  5. 5 sheribear9202 November 17, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    From what I remember… his belly wasn’t even that big. I’ve seen women with bigger prego bellies hide it very well. With the HIPPA law on confidentiality, it’s illegal to release any information reguarding the case. In order for the media to run with this story, he, a friend, or a family member, would have had to contact them because medical staff would have lost their liscense to practice.

    Why do people need to be in the spotlight all the time? Why is attention such a big deal?

  6. 6 nathan's mom November 17, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    I think that as a society, we have a duty to better protect this child. Will she get teased? Maybe. Why are we asking the question at all, when the better question is how do we teach our own children that families don’t have to be the same to be valued? How do we teach our own children to be kind, compassionate and accepting of different cultures, lifestyles and religions?

    And, how do we teach ourselves?

  7. 7 sheribear9202 November 17, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    Good Point… thank you…

  8. 8 mamaneeds2rant November 17, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    @ nathan’s mom: You’re so right. If we all taught our kids to respect other people and better yet to appreciate all the different gifts people bring to the world, the world would be so much better.

  9. 9 somuchmorethanamom November 18, 2008 at 11:48 am

    I’m with you…to each his/her own. However, the need to have her 15 minutes (she was on Oprah, etc.) has clearly taken over any thoughts about how her future child will be affected by the publicity. I also agree that we all need to teach our kids acceptance.

  10. 10 mamaneeds2rant November 18, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    Thanks for stopping by, somuchmore. Too bad there aren’t more moms (and future moms) like the wonderful people who have commented on this post. At least we’re doing our part in raising accepting and open-minded kids.

  11. 11 Sheribear9202 November 18, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    …I’m the only future mom here… that feels good to know you believe in me =D

    thanks!


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 173,275 hits


