Marilyn’s Still Pounding The Pavement

This summer, I wrote a post about a mysterious woman, Marilyn Gibbs, on a mysterious mission to save herself and other women (it seems particularly white women, although she herself is black), from a strange and evil conspiracy known as the “Microwave Oppression.”  This past week, I have received comments from two different people who have encountered Marilyn.  This time, she is on the other side of the United States.  She was in Montana on November 12th, and then in Idaho on November 15th.  The woman seems to be perpetually on the road, living off the kindness of strangers while desperately trying to spread her message.

It’s getting pretty darn cold here right now in Western Pennsylvania.  I don’t imagine it’s exactly balmy in either Idaho or Montana.  If I were Marilyn, I think I’d be hopping on a Greyhound bus to warmer climates.  New Mexico or Arizona might be nice.

45 Responses to “Marilyn’s Still Pounding The Pavement”


  1. 1 sheribear9202 November 16, 2008 at 11:20 pm

    This is such an interesting story, and how Middle Son J seems to have a lot of coincidental things happen to him. Maybe it’s a special gift he doesn’t know about yet….

    I just found it so interesting that Marilyn wanted to go to Ebensburg, which is literally 15-20 minutes from my parents farm. I’m trying to think what’s so special about Evensburg, but there’s a HUGE prison there… and a lot of historical happenings happened there. Other than that, I wouldn’t know where to start thinking of her logic behind what she does.

    It’s interesting to think about.

  2. 2 mamaneeds2rant November 17, 2008 at 12:14 am

    I don’t think anyone knows how Marilyn’s mind works.

  3. 3 newsusa November 20, 2008 at 10:35 am

    very good site great my site freegate.wordpress.com mail tehnaz@live.com

  4. 4 Tim November 25, 2008 at 3:30 am

    I met Marilyn Gibbs last year around this time…you can Google her name and there is a blog set up to describe her whereabouts.
    Tim

  5. 5 Gramma January 1, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    Marilyn either has a mental disease or is acting the part to see how people all over the country treat someone with a disability.
    It is astounding to me that someone who knows her is not identifying her or really looking for her.

  6. 6 mamaneeds2rant January 2, 2009 at 12:59 am

    If you saw the papers she hands out with all the rambling, you would say she’s mentally ill. It seems a shame but maybe she has no one looking for her.

  7. 7 David Albert May 2, 2009 at 9:34 am

    Being bipolar & agoraphobic, I can tell you that w/o my Zyprexa I would be wandering out there with her! The majority of people I know have some form of emotional disturbance to some degree or another; our society as a whole has been under unbelievable communal pressure and stress for the last 40-50 years. We would have to be the dumbest country on the planet not to recognize the inevitable effects and work hard at fixing it… oh wait, that’s us! If she has a family, the statistics show that they probably ignored her problem or just stopped talking to her… I know – it was almost 25 years for me! If she did ask for help or show early signs that something was wrong, everyone just said “Oh, that’s just how she is!”. Wakeup call, America… get help for people you care about when they are sad, angry, experiencing emotional highs and or lows; ignoring the simple stuff will not make it go away, just make it worse. You don’t have to commit them… get them together with a minister, school counselor, or take them to coffee and let them talk (don’t forget the lost art of LISTENING). Our life, liberty AND pursuit of happiness may depend on it… thanks for listening!

    • 8 mamaneeds2rant May 2, 2009 at 10:26 am

      David, I’m so happy you found something that could help you. I agree that this country should do a lot more to help people with mental health issues. The sad thing is that many people that could be helped with medication refuse to take anything because of side effects or lack of accessibility to good medication. This has to be exasperating for the loved ones of the person spiraling out of control, which may be why some relatives just give up.
      I agree with you about the importance of this issue. There is a lot of potential being wasted in this country because of the lack of help for these individuals.

  8. 9 Danielle July 19, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    I just encountered Marilyn in Orange Park, Fl right outside of Jacksonville at office max making copies…she handed me her flier with a copy of her license and two pages of written text about her microwave technology and what not. she flagged me down in the parking lot and asked for a ride…very bizarre!

  9. 11 M Dodd December 2, 2009 at 11:36 pm

    Today is December 2,2009 I walked outside my hotel lobby about 9 pm and found Marilyn Gibbs sitting in the cold, she asked how far is the church or police station, I told 17 miles away, I then elect to help her by offering a room and meal at my hotel in Roadforks, NM she also handed out that piece of paper and telling me her story. I hope she find home soon if there is one it very cold at this time.

  10. 12 M Dodd December 2, 2009 at 11:37 pm

    I pray the lord bless and keep her

    • 13 les@mamaneeds2rant December 3, 2009 at 12:00 am

      I hope so too, M Dodd. It’s amazing how she keeps going from town to town, year after year. I often wonder why this “mission” is so important to her that she would subject herself to such a cold and lonely life.

  11. 14 Emily February 23, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    She was on the UC Davis Campus in California handing out her fliers. She came up to my friends and I and gave us each fliers and said something about Dr. King.

  12. 15 T June 20, 2011 at 6:41 pm

    I just finished typing up a livejournal entry about Marilyn. She was sighted in Los Lunas, New Mexico on Father’s day.

    The entry is http://somanesa.livejournal.com/245885.html and I can provide the formatting behind it if you want to stick it up on your own blog. Or just copy paste it, I don’t mind. I am not into this whole blogging thing anyway 🙂

  13. 17 Theophilus September 4, 2011 at 12:47 am

    Does anyone have a picture of this Lady, Marily Virginia Gibbs, i just had an encounter with her, it was strange, She seem to have some type of Mental issure. I was not sure, the paper ID she gave me did not look legal, and I could not let her stay here because I had no peace in who she said she was, not knowing anything about her, i called the last place she was at and was told she was trouble, but a child of God. He advised me not to get involved. Signed was she a Angel?

  14. 19 Laiylah April 2, 2012 at 7:28 pm

    She was in new mexico last year at my job allsups gas station with a bunch of copies of her story. Everyone thought she was crazy nd must be on drugs. I took her story home. With all these cospiracies nd whatnot. Im sure theres some metaphoric truth

  15. 20 Natasha Leonard April 6, 2012 at 4:40 pm

    I go to an arts school in West Palm Beach, Florida. A few months ago my friend came to me during first hour and was rambling about some crazy black lady who gave her a letter and asked her to “read her story” while on the tri-rail to school. It talked about Microwave Technology 667 and a pimp named Carl Wyman or something. She said she wanted to change her race and be Hispanic, does not like black people and that her name was Marilyn. A few weeks later my friend ran into her again, and this time she tried to strike up a conversation–but was pulled away by one of my other friends who claimed the lady could be a psycho. We looked her up and apparently she goes around handing out these letters around the US. Last week was the last time my friend saw her again (this time I was with her). We tried speaking with her but she gave me a dirty look–again she doesn’t like blacks and she ignored my friend despite her being Jewish. She left for Memphis, Tennessee. I snagged a few pictures of her with my iPad though.

  16. 21 Bubblez July 28, 2012 at 4:51 am

    This is the second time I have run into marilyn she was at my job tonight in Lantana, Florida . She came in with a black male around her age and they got out of the same taxi but said they were not together she sat on one side of the resturant and he sat on the other but both were making eye contact with eachother they both had alot of luggage and he is just as strange as she is. I think she has a partner now. She might look harmless but do not put anything past this woman.

  17. 22 Fran August 30, 2012 at 1:36 pm

    Guess what! Marilyn is in Orange City, FL and talked my husband into giving her a ride to the church. My husband said anyone who asks for a ride to church he will never refuse-my husband is a wonderful person! God please take care of you and keep you safe on your journey, Marilyn. I pray the Catholic priests here will help you in some way with your problems.

  18. 24 Beverly August 30, 2012 at 8:04 pm

    It had been a long day on 8/30/2012 for me & my boyfriend… So at 6 pm we decided to go to dinner in Deland Florida since we needed to go to the grocery store as well. We stopped at an all you can eat Chinese & Hibachi place. While walking in and talking a lady was standing at the door as we entered and asked if we could have a moment of her time. We of course said ok sure. Thinking it was harmless enough. She then asked us if we could donate a meal. We both misunderstood her and said we didn’t have much cash on us and my boyfriend pulled out his wallet to give her some money. She said no I am hungry can you pay for the meal with your credit card. Being raised the way we both have been raised we said sure why not… She walked into the establishment with us as we waited to be seated. She made small talk asking if we had children. Then when we got to the table we agreed to sit at different tables to have privacy. She then asked me numerous times if I was going to pay and to make sure I wasn’t going to leave her high and dry. I informed her numerous times that I would pay. The 3 of us went on to eat our dinners.

    When we went to leave, I turned around and handed her one of the fortune cookies that was given to us and said enjoy and have a great evening. She then handed us each a paper and started to say all I need is 5 thousand dollars and a passport because she was chasing a police officer to Guatemala. I just said well good luck with that and turned away to my boyfriend. We walked out paid our tab and started reading the paper that she handed and that is when I found out we met Marilyn Gibbs.
    She wasn’t hostile towards us at all and was very pleasant and had that big smile. So I can see why she has made it as far as she has with as many of us citizens helping her along the way. After a search on Google we came upon these stories. Maybe she used microwave technology on all of us who did her bidding.

  19. 25 les@mamaneeds2rant August 30, 2012 at 10:17 pm

    Lol! Maybe that is the magic of the microwave technology! Seems Marilyn is enjoying the Florida sunshine! Looks like she’s been there for a while.

  20. 27 Kathy Alexander October 7, 2012 at 6:46 pm

    Encountered Marilyn this morning (Oct 7, 2012) in church in Columbus MS. Same story.

  21. 29 Jack October 22, 2012 at 5:39 am

    I just encountered Marilyn this evening on the UNH campus in Durham, NH. Read her manifesto, full off strange typos and grammar, and decided I’d poke around online to see if I could figure out what she was talking about. I did not expect to see so much about her out there…

  22. 30 Avi October 25, 2012 at 8:31 pm

    Marilyn definetly has a interesting mind, however deeply disturbed… Disorganized thoughts are a clear indicator of schizophrenia… I’m amazed at how well traveled she is seeing as she is quite literally out of her mind. BTW I’m up in NH, how the hell does she choose these places of all places.

  23. 31 Ben November 9, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    I saw Marilyn today at University of Maryland. She handed me a paper about Microwave technology and “John Rodwin” and how evil he is. After reading these comments, it’s pretty impressive how she manages to tour the country, presumably without a car.

  24. 32 Marie November 15, 2012 at 8:34 am

    Hi there! Just wanted to share a FB page that was made to try and track her whereabouts!

    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Marilyn-Gibbs-On-a-mission/151103358257166?v=info

  25. 34 Michele November 30, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    I ran into Marilyn in Greenville, SC in my bar last night. I googled Carl Wyman this morning and haven’t been away from the computer. I am totally obsessed with this woman!

    • 35 Roscoe November 30, 2012 at 7:55 pm

      Marilyn was at the Simpsonville, SC Library all afternoon and handed out her ramblings to patrons and staff. She is obviously very troubled but it is intriguing how she has managed to go from place to place for so long.

  26. 36 Samantha February 6, 2013 at 1:36 pm

    I have just encountered marilyn today at Montgomery college in Rockville, MD. She asked me if I was Hispanic and told me to give a flyer to the Hispanic church. And she then she said that she was marilyn Rodrigues. She flashed me a big smile and left to hand out more flyers. I’m so confused on what her mission is.

  27. 38 Amanda May 14, 2013 at 11:47 am

    I just encountered Marilyn in Winston Salem NC

  28. 39 Billy July 7, 2013 at 5:49 pm

    We encountered and gave her a ride and something to eat while here in Panama City FL on 7/6/2013

  29. 41 Zafo Jones August 5, 2013 at 3:32 pm

    I met her in August 2008 in Delaware. I just recently found the papers she gave me and posted them on Reddit to find other people in the area who may have met her. I scanned the papers she gave me and included them with my post: http://www.reddit.com/r/Delaware/comments/1jr8a9/has_anyone_else_here_met_marilyn_gibbs_in_august/

  30. 42 Len Winston September 7, 2013 at 4:03 pm

    Just ran into Marilyn in Tallahassee, Fl while on a business trip. She handed me a flyer and I told her I was from out of town. She replied, ” I am too, but please read this. I took it and after reading it and researching her name; I’m not sure what to think. I hope she finds what she is seeking. God bless her.

  31. 44 yadi September 25, 2014 at 2:05 am

    She is in Odessa, TX

  32. 45 moose627Adam November 22, 2015 at 5:03 pm

    I just talked to her in Fort Collins Colorado. She is still handing out these interesting manifestos aboiut Oprah Winfrey and pimp ministers… she was very nice though


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 171,921 hits


