The Vanishing Toilet Brush

At the risk of marring my super cool image, I have to admit that sometimes I actually have to scrub toilets.  No one else around here would.  They might not even notice, except for maybe Youngest Son.  But that doesn’t mean he’d pick up a toilet brush.  He’d just nag me about it.

I was ready to go out for a run today, when I saw the Lysol toilet bowl cleaner sitting on the dryer where I’d left it yesterday.  I had left it there with the cap on loosely so that I could clean the upstairs toilets.  You need a super-human finger-vise grip to squeeze the lid hard enough to you can turn and open it.  After wasting a good 5 minutes of my life yesterday trying to loosen the cap to open the damn thing, I wasn’t about to close it up tightly until every toilet in the house was clean.

So I ran upstairs to the kids’ bathroom, figuring I’d kill those germs while I run.  But I wanted to brush the funky stuff first before I poured the Lysol.  I reached for the toilet brush, but it wasn’t there.  Since Big Daddy just put in a new floor in this room, I looked in the hall where we had stored some of the bathroom stuff during remodeling.  Not there.  Hoping he hadn’t stashed it in one of the bedrooms, I checked each one.  Thank God, no toilet brush there.  Maybe somehow I’d missed it in the other bathrooms.  How about the basement?  Garage?  That’s where I would have stored the thing–but men don’t always see the gross factor in things the way we women do.  Which is why I always call one of them to fish a snake or dead rodent out of the pool.

I finally gave up and called Big Daddy.  “Any idea where you put the toilet brush from the kids’ bathroom?”  He assured me that he definitely did not throw it away.  I believe him because I’ve taken the trash out enough to know I would have seen it there.  But he can’t remember where he put it.

Where would a funky toilet brush hide?  Maybe I should check the pool.  It’s the only place I haven’t looked.

5 Responses to “The Vanishing Toilet Brush”


  1. 1 Sheri November 14, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    For my house, since it’s only me, I use the magic bubbles wand with the disposable cleaner heads. They tend to do well for me, but the added expense for someone with a full household wouldn’t make much sense. But as a germ-a-phobe, it’s nice to know that my yucky germs are being thrown away instead of staying on a brush.

    Maybe this is a way of saying that a new brush is needed?? Good luck finding it.

  2. 2 mamaneeds2rant November 14, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    I actually thought about getting those. Nothing would make me happier than getting rid of those germs for good!

  3. 3 Sheri November 14, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    They’re not that bad… just gets expensive in the long run. I guess it kinda evens out from the brushes, to the cleaner, to the time to take the steps. This way, it’s all one step, you throw it away, and never see the germs again.

  4. 4 Sheri November 14, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    Plus… I must say…. even though you opened up to us and admitted that you do scrub toilets, I still think you’re super cool!

    Less than a week to go until Soldier Son gets home! =D

  5. 5 John and Perla November 22, 2008 at 8:26 am

    Sorry, we have the brush. I’ll send it back when we’re done. :-/


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 173,278 hits


