I Earned My Bragging Rights

Youngest Son stopped by the house this weekend with Shayna, his ex-girlfriend and still very good friend.  I don’t think we would have seen him if she hadn’t insisted on meeting up with him since she was home from college.  See how we rate.

Anyways, she had stopped by his dorm room to pick him up so they could go to the mall.  She started telling us how incredibly perfect his towels were folded and arranged in his closet.  I asked if they were also arranged by color.  “Of course,” she said.  His entire closet is arranged in color order.  In fact, when Big Daddy and I were trying to “hurry up and get the hell out of there by moving him into his dorm quickly” because it was cramped and hot and we were ready to celebrate getting rid of kid number three and have some food left in the house for us, he would NOT let me speed things up by hanging up his clothes in the closet.  Because <big sigh and eye roll>, I was doing it all wrong!

Now I know from home that the T-shirts must all be hung in color order.  We start with darkest black on the left and work up to whitest white.  In between, it kind of follows the rainbow, with the odd colors like gray grouped together somewhere in between.  But I didn’t know there was a jeans protocol.  And clueless mom that I was, I was starting off his sophomore year horribly by hanging his jeans in the wrong order!!

I also caught hell this weekend because the bathroom closet that he had so meticulously organized in an anal craze before he left for school (despite the fact that he had a ton of his own packing to do), had a few things out of place.  Excuse me, but Big Daddy was working on a remodeling project in there and we had to shift some things around to set his tools down.  But, of course, when anything is amiss at home, it’s always good old mom’s fault.

So, when I tell you that his perfectionism (is that a word?–I’m sure he’ll let me know) has made my life easy in many ways, it’s not without it’s annoyances.  Which is why I earned the right to brag about the 102% he just found out he got on his last Organic Chem test.  That’s after the two 100%’s he’s gotten on the last two–and the class average is somewhere in the 70’s.  And the reason he had to go to the Mall this weekend?  He needs a pair of dress pants.  He’s been invited to attend a Micro Biology conference at another college so that he can observe.  He may actually have to make his own presentation at a national conference.

My Youngest Son is pretty awesome.  OCD and all.

12 Responses to “I Earned My Bragging Rights”


  1. 1 Sheri November 12, 2008 at 9:09 am

    Congratulations on the bragging rights!!!! I only wish I were a quarter that intelligent in the sciences.

    OCD is nothing to worry about… when it comes to cooking, I’m a complete freak. I need to know that it tastes good.. I need to know everything is being cooked right, and I need to know I’m winning my way into the heart of who I’m cooking for ❤ =D

    Hope to meet you soon! About a week to go!

  2. 2 Emily November 12, 2008 at 9:12 am

    wow. you ought to be very proud.

    oh, and give him my address. he’s welcome to fix my linen closet.

  3. 3 mamaneeds2rant November 12, 2008 at 11:41 am

    @ Sheri: Can’t wait to meet you. Loved reading your comments!

    @ Emily: Your linen closet would look terrific but your fridge will be empty!

  4. 4 Sheri November 12, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    Well… he might go a little insane if he comes to my house. LOL. My fridge is already empty, so I guess that won’t be much motivation to organize anything. Hmmm… maybe if I took him out to eat…. =D

  5. 5 "J" November 12, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    “youngest son” is GAAAYYYYYY haha jk.. but seriously.. haha

  6. 6 mamaneeds2rant November 12, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    OK J–you better watch or I’ll start ranting about your GAAAAYYYY tatoos!!!

  7. 7 "J" November 12, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    well, mom, i believe its spelled tattoos* and they are far from gay. thank you haha

  8. 8 Sheri November 12, 2008 at 9:06 pm

    well… from a person who is like your mother… and someone who has tattoos… i can see both sides… and it’s really a matter of what they are and where they’re placed….

  9. 9 "S" November 16, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    well first off you and your “tatoos” are in fact gay and second of all mom i would say more than a couple things were out of place haha just saying…

  10. 10 mamaneeds2rant November 16, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    Ummm…no. A few things only. And…when I saw a comment from “s” I thought “J” made a typo.

  11. 11 sheribear9202 November 17, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    now now children.. fight nice =P

  12. 12 John and Perla November 22, 2008 at 7:53 am

    We should probably start praying for youngest son’s future wife now. It sounds like she’ll need it. Jeez.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 173,275 hits


