I Ain’t Lookin’ For A Quickie!!

Crap.  About six months ago, Soldier Son’s girlfriend sent me an invite to join one of those networking sites–not one of the major ones, though.  This was some junky new site that was always trying to trick you into signing up for services you didn’t want.  I signed up because the dil had invited me and also I thought it might be another way to keep in touch with her and Soldier Son.  My other two sons have Facebook accounts which is one reason I never considered joining.  Soldier Son does, too, but he honestly never cared if I read his e-mails or knew what was going on.  In fact, sometimes he gave me too much info. (Yikes)!  Although we’re all pretty open about things, I don’t want any of my boys to feel like they have to not be themselves on their site because they might feel weird about mom seeing something.

So, I signed up on Cheapo site but never got around to adding a picture.  The only pics my family ever take of me is when I have gobs of food in my mouth (which is quite frequently, I’m afraid) or when I have serious bed head.  Big Daddy thinks it’s funny.  I do occassionally look quite presentable, but there will be no record of that after I die.  But I had fun designing the background on my profile, and giving all the awesome details about my eclectic taste in music and my varied interests.

Well, the other day I finally got around to putting up a picture.  I made Youngest Son take one late this summer because I was feeling, well, presentable.  And I thought maybe I might want to use a picture sometime for my blog or something.  But the other day I thought maybe I’d finish up my profile on Cheapo site.

It really wasn’t a great picture.  It wasn’t revealing or suggestive.  But all of a sudden, I’m getting e-mails from old guys.  I didn’t change any details about my great taste in music, or my love of New York Times Sunday crossword puzzles (although I hate the Commie rag itself).  I DEFINITELY didn’t change the parts about me being MARRIED, or that I was merely looking for FRIENDSHIP, and one of my favorite activities was spending time with my FAMILY!  And yet, after six months with only two friends, I suddenly get “friend” requests.

Although I tried to be as anonymous as the site would allow, one guy noticed that we lived nearby.  Like we’re gonna get together?  I really don’t think so.  I accepted him as a friend with the caveat that we could be friends through the site (hoping that he’d get the message that near or far, we weren’t gonna meet).  Another guy sends a message–Click “Yes” or “No.”  To what?  I’m not clicking anything!  I don’t know what the question is.

Maybe I’m too old to for these networking sites.  If anybody wants to talk to me, I’d rather they do it because they like what I have to say or want to tell me something, not because they think I look “pretty in my picture.”  I LOVE getting comments on my blog or e-mails from real people (as opposed to the usual Spam I get).  Just don’t expect to get lucky.

To be fair, maybe these guys just do want to be friends.  But I kinda know guys.  Stay tuned for tomorrow’s post, “I Ain’t Lookin” For A Quickie Part 2.”  And I think I’m taking down my profile.

1 Response to “I Ain’t Lookin’ For A Quickie!!”


  1. 1 somuchmorethanamom December 6, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    Yikes. That happened to me just a couple of times on MySpace but not even once on Facebook. Come on….you know you want to join….everybody’s doing it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 170,431 hits


