The Importance of Lists

Last night when I should have been paying bills, I got caught up in reading blogs.  And I was amazed at the hectic lives some people lead.  There are some awesome people out there dealing valiantly with hardships and illness.  And there are a ton of people right now spending busy days nursing newborns, going to PTA meetings, and dealing with kiddie meltdowns.  So I’m thinking that when they come across my blog, they’re probably saying, “I hate that lazy whiny bitch.”  Because if I had come across my blog say ten years ago, I might have been thinking that.

In my feeble defense, all I can say is I’ve been there.  I used to have my calendar covered with inked-in notes and appointments.  I ran from meeting to game to appointment like a chicken with my head cut off.  I’ve had curmudgeons give me dirty looks while my kid shrieked in the grocery store.  So you could be charitable and  see my less complicated life as your future reward.

Also, let me tell you that it’s not as easy as you think having all this leisure time.  Lately, I’ve noticed that I’ve become somewhat of a slug.  While you’re out there running around, I’m guiltily sitting under my blanket thinking about all the projects I should be starting.  And then not doing them, because of course, there’s always tomorrow.  So I’ve decided to go back to making lists.  This is one thing that really helps me get things done.

The beauty of the list is this:  Instead of having a jumble of ideas about what needs to get done, you make an organized plan to follow.  I will list EVERYTHING I need to do for the day, from the most mundane everyday chore to at least one project that I want to tackle.  Then as I do each one, I cross it off my list.

For some reason, the satisfaction I get from crossing each accomplished chore off the list keeps me going until I’ve actually put in a full day.  And it helps if you break down each job into tiny manageable tasks.  For example, don’t just write down “Clean kitchen.”  Break it down into smaller parts like “Unload dishwasher.”  “Wash pots and pans.”  “Scrub kitchen floor.”

Hope I’ve helped some of you organize your day.  I can now cross off “Write New Post in Blog.”  Now I’m heading off to do list item #3, “Make Deviled Eggs.”  It just may be a productive day today!

9 Responses to “The Importance of Lists”


  1. 1 Pastor John October 4, 2008 at 2:28 am

    Deviled Eggs, my favorite.

    You are on our blogroll, now.

  2. 3 Kate October 5, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    If I make a list, I usually lose the list. 😕

    I agree…I think there comes a time when we do get to sit back and watch the rest of the world go whacko trying to rush here, rush there. Makes us wonder what on earth were we thinking when we did the same thing. heh.

    BTW, nice place ya got here. 🙂

  3. 4 mamaneeds2rant October 5, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    Thanks, Kate. I enjoy your blog, too.

  4. 5 Beth October 6, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    Tomorrow’s List:
    1) Leave the computer chair for 30 minutes, walk dog, return for more inspiration!

  5. 6 goodmum October 8, 2008 at 10:48 am

    I too live for the satisfaction that comes with crossing something off my To DO list. IF not for the lists, I’d probably do nothing. I’m THAT ummotivated.

  6. 7 Brethart77 October 17, 2008 at 9:43 am

    I like lists so much that I’ve decided to post them on the web.

    Jonathan W

  7. 8 shortattentionspa October 22, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    I am a compulsive list maker. 🙂 I make lists about everything from what I need to budget for each month, to what I need to do to get ready for a special date or event. (I get so bad as to list my clothing and jewelry for the event, so I don’t forget what it is I want to wear. Although, I usually have it out all together ahead of time anyway.) ❤ Britt

  8. 9 mamaneeds2rant October 23, 2008 at 10:36 am

    I get soooo much more done on my list days. I also come home with everything I need from the grocery store when I’m armed with a list. They really are invaluable.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 170,404 hits


