I’m Cold—What’s Your Excuse?

Okay.  I know it’s October.  But almost overnight the weather has gone from sunny and warm (mid-70’s) to dreary and cold.  It’s like 50 degrees today–and it’s too early to kick on the furnace.  My poor 50-year-old body hasn’t made the adjustment yet.

I’m a warm-weather mama.  I smile more when I’m warm.  I move better when I’m warm.  I just seem to get a whole lot more done when I’m not wasting energy shivering.  All I want to do now is snuggle under a blanket.  I COULD go out for a jog.  That usually gets the blood pumping.  But instead I opted for a hot cup of coffee and a pile of food.  No wonder I can’t lose that 10 pounds.

Last night I was picking up a distinct doggie odor in the house.  I usually pride myself in having a dog but not having a doggie-smelling house.  I said something about it to Big Daddy and he commented that he hadn’t run the sweeper in about 6 weeks.  Ooops!  It’s been a few weeks for me too.  No wonder it stinks.  We’re being buried alive in dog hair!

Meanwhile, according to the FRG letter we get from our military support group, we were informed that our dear loved ones in Iraq are also experiencing a seasonal cooldown.  It’s now cooled down to a tepid 100 degree average temperature there, from an average high in the 130’s a couple months ago.  Poor Soldier Son!  If he takes after me, when he gets home, he’ll need to hibernate under a pile of quilts until next July.

1 Response to “I’m Cold—What’s Your Excuse?”


  1. 1 Sheri November 11, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    I’ve already warned him about the frigid cold.. especially in our neck of the woods. I told him that in comparison to the weather there, he better be prepared….. in lots of layers.

    I’m the same as you when it comes to warm weather… and I’ve already told Chris that I LOVE YOU and that I’m going to adopt you as my “Home away from Home MOM” LOL


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 168,956 hits


