Who Woulda Thunk. . .?

Some people know exactly what they want to do with their lives, even when they’re very young children.  They have a calling, map out a plan to get there, and fulfill their dreams.  That’s not me.  I just kind of drift along, pretty much letting the winds of fortune carry me where they will.  Even though I don’t have a particular game plan, I try to be as prepared as possible.  In high school, because I was smart, I got to skip a lot of basic classes and so I had room in my schedule to take plenty of rigorous academic classes (in case I went to college), business classes (so I could get a job right out of high school), and classes I loved, like Creative Writing (because I love to write and well, the teacher was young and hot).

Along the way, I have fulfilled some of the very few goals I actually had.  I wanted to be a writer.  I knew better than to major in it at school, though.  I’m not aggressive enough to be a reporter and not disciplined enough to be able to make a living at it by freelancing.  But I have had the thrill of actually being published, and getting paid for my work (which of course convinced me further that I would never be able to live off this thing I love).  And I’m able to be a writer, albeit uncompensated, through this little blog.  Another dream I’ve always had was to be on the game show Jeopardy! Somehow, that happened!  And even though I didn’t win, I didn’t make an ass out of myself either.  One thing I never really planned was to be a mom.  And that’s the one thing, I know now, that I was meant to be.  There could never be anything more important in my life than this; nothing else has made my life so complete.

The summer before I went to college, I worked the 4 to midnight shift as a data entry operator.  I became friends with Suzy, the one outcast of the office.  She was bright, and creative, and slightly damaged from an abusive childhood.  But she was fun.  She was a couple years older, and way cooler than me.  When she said she hated kids, and brought up some reasons like how whiny and messy they were, I thought maybe she had a point.  I swear to God, though, I’m pretty sure I saw her like some 10 years after that summer, at a Chuck E. Cheese-like place with some kids.  It had been so long since I’d seen her that I wasn’t sure enough to approach her.

Suzy and I used to stand out on the sidewalk during our breaks on those warm summer nights.  We were on one of the main drags in town.  She’d flag down some of the guy friends she knew who would cruise by in their fancy Trans-Ams and Firebirds and we would chat.  One of them was Scott.  He had a factory job and worked, but was kind of a waste.  He was in love with his car and himself.  And he was a bit of a pothead.

A couple years ago, I saw Scott’s name in the paper as an investigating officer in a criminal case.  He had a pretty distinctive name, but I couldn’t believe it was the same guy.  Could he have a son?  But the rank, and the responsibility led me to believe that it had to be a guy about the same age as our old cruising friend Scott.  I’ve seen his name several times since, and it seems he’s very good at his job.  I was even able to pull up a picture online because he’d won an award, and it was him.  I know they ask State Police candidates if they’ve ever used illegal substances; I guess they don’t always find out.  I’m not squawking about this.  I know people change.  I’m living proof.

Note: Names are changed to protect the not-so-innocent

2 Responses to “Who Woulda Thunk. . .?”


  1. 1 Pastor John September 24, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    If God is right, then motherhood should be a great thing…

    Lo, children are a heritage of the LORD: and the fruit of the womb is his reward.
    Psalms 127:3

    And YOU have done well!

  2. 2 mamaneeds2rant September 24, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    Why thank you! They made my job easy, though. And so did Big Daddy!


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 170,393 hits


