On Relationships: Monogamy and Soul Mates

Several things got me thinking about this subject.  One is having one son older than I was when I got married, and two more almost at that age.  I see the relationships they’ve gotten into, and then gotten out of.  Some were quite serious; these kids were convinced they were in love.  I’ve even let my mind wander thinking what if they got married, and for the most part, I was OK with most of their choices.  But then, as people are prone to do, they suddenly fall out of mad passionate love, become just friends or in some cases enemies, and fall madly in love with someone else.

Then I see couples like my aunt and uncle, married for almost 70 years.  If you ever watched Seinfeld, they remind me a lot of George Costanza’s parents.  There’s always a lot of eye-rolling and VERY LOUD TALKING, but underneath there’s a lot of affection there.  For as long as I can remember, it’s the way they’ve interacted with each other.  It seems like they can’t live with each other (but obviously they can after 60 some years), but I don’t think they can live without each other.

I don’t believe in the concept of a soul mate.  I think it would be a very shallow world to think that one single other person and yourself could make a complete universe.  I think each of us is one small part of the whole big puzzle.  I believe that one selects a mate that compliments one’s life and fulfills one’s needs at that time.  But since people grow and change, so does the relationship.  That is where commitment comes into play.

Not so long ago, when people married, they made a commitment for life.  Society frowned on divorce and so people made the best of the life they chose.  Women did not have the choices they have now to be able to support themselves economically, so they stayed in marriages that they might not stay in today.  By the same token, I’m sure many men stayed put with nasty partners due to the sense of duty they felt.

In some ways, this was tragic.  Like today, I’m sure many of these marriages were abusive.  No one should ever be stuck in a marriage where abuse occurs.  But there were probably a lot of normal ups and downs that people worked through, instead of baling out with a quickie divorce like they might today.  People didn’t expect everything in their lives to be perfect back then, and they didn’t run away from their problems.  Facing problems, then working together to find solutions builds character.  And relationships.

Sometimes staying together just doesn’t make sense.  If someone just doesn’t want to be with you, it’s pathetic to hang on to something that just isn’t there.  There are deal-breakers that no one should have to live with, such as abuse.  I’m glad people have choices today, and are able to find happiness if they make a terrible choice in their youth.  But I hope my boys take a long time to find a mate that they can share a happy lifetime with, who will share similar values and sense of commitment.  There’s something comforting in planning for the future in the same house, with the same spouse.

6 Responses to “On Relationships: Monogamy and Soul Mates”


  1. 1 Pastor John September 24, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    Here’s a good one for the boys:

    It is said that boys marry women like their mothers.

    If your boys did that, they would be off to a good start.

  2. 2 mamaneeds2rant September 25, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    Aww. I think I kind of like you!

  3. 3 shortattentionspa October 22, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    I like this post. That is one thing I notice a lot of my peers doing at this point, getting engaged to be married to someone they have only been with for a few months because they are under the impression that they feel a forever kind of love for that person. And most of them break up because, although the passion is there, the staying power isn’t. People my age are so anxious for the excitement of getting married, they don’t think about all the hard work (when I say work, I mean the effort you have to put forth to truly make a marriage work between two people) and devotion to making sure you are both getting what you need out of the relationship. When it gets closer to the time they are going to get married, one inevitably gets freaked out when they realize what they are getting into and they both end up with broke hearts. It’s unfortunate that not everyone has the clarity of mind to see the truth in what you are saying, and apply it to their own relationship.
    ❤ Britt

  4. 4 mamaneeds2rant October 23, 2008 at 10:33 am

    Thanks, Britt. A lot of heartbreak could be avoided if more young people could see things as clearly as you do.

  5. 5 Sheribear9202 November 18, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    Brit kinda upset me when she mentioned her comment. I totally agree with her, don’t get me wrong, it just brought back memories because I was one of those people who got engaged and married too early. I don’t regret it though, because he’s no longer with us. I had all the time I could have spent with him, and I miss him alot, but there’s nothing else I can do except move on. And move on I have. I have a really great guy friend that puts that smile back on my face that I haven’t had in a while.

    I can definately agree that if people are getting engaged and married just for the excitement of getting married, then their mind is not in the right place. This is where the heartbreak, hurt, cheating, lying, deceiving, etc. start to happen. This is one of the reasons why the divorce rate is up to 50% and more. People don’t take the time to really get to know each other and cherish the little things in the relationship that makes me work. However, when you do find that true love, it’s kinda hard to deny. When you do find that, hold on to it. You never know where it will take you. (This is the fairy tale coming out in me. LOL)

  6. 6 Sheribear9202 November 18, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    sorry about the typos.. and sorry Britt*.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 173,275 hits


