Don’t Think I’m Eating Chinese Fish

I stopped at Aldi’s this morning because they have some dog beds there for sale pretty cheap and I’m trying to keep her off my good living room couch because her nails are wearing the fabric thin.  I also needed to pick up a few groceries.  Since I’m still trying to use up garden tomatoes, I thought some fish would be good and healthy to have with some broiled tomatoes.

I picked up a bag of frozen tilapia and noticed it said “Product of China.”  So I threw it down and looked at the salmon.  Then the orange roughy.  All products of China.

Well, I don’t know about you, but I’m not buying ANYTHING from China.  Especially something to eat.  China, the country that exports toothpaste laced with antifreeze, paints their toys with lead-based paints, and now poisons their very own children with melamine-tainted baby formula, will not be providing any of their goods to me or my family if I can prevent it.

I ended up buying some good old American strip steaks.  They go good with broiled tomatoes, too.

7 Responses to “Don’t Think I’m Eating Chinese Fish”


  1. 1 Emily September 19, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    Um, fish shipped from China? Lovely.

  2. 2 Chris September 22, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    You know something’s wrong when a company can save money by importing fish from China. Are we out of fish here or something? Or are they just like, covered in gold nowadays? Maybe the talk of offshore drilling just scared them away. Now I’m angry. Over friggin fish. Bloody hell. I need a drink.

  3. 3 mamaneeds2rant September 22, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    When you come home, I promise we’ll both have a drink–but not with Chinese fish. Maybe a California roll?

  4. 4 Chris September 23, 2008 at 4:36 am

    The sad thing is, you’re probably more likely to find good American fish at a sushi bar than an American discount grocery store.

  5. 5 Sheri November 11, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    This is going to show my true colors… but… I would rather catch my fish…

    FORGIVE ME.. I great up on a small farm about 1 and 1/2 hours from here.. and we hunted and fished for everything.. =\

  6. 6 mamaneeds2rant November 11, 2008 at 11:06 pm

    Cool. An outdoor woman. Maybe you can pull Soldier Son away from the video games and out into nature sometimes!

  7. 7 Sheri November 12, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    I’ll see what I can do Mom


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 170,431 hits


