An Empty Nest Is A Clean Nest

I wonder sometimes if I just have a better imagination than a lot of people. I’ve pretty much worked at least part-time most of my life, even through college.  There were one or two years when the younger boys were in middle-school, that I didn’t have a paying job outside the home, but I was plenty busy driving them to activities and volunteering at their school.  And even then, I did a few tax returns for people from my home office.  There was also the one year I was pregnant with Youngest Son, with J not even toddling yet and Soldier Son a very high-strung brilliant preschooler, and even then I babysat for a few neighborhood kids.  So when people say they don’t know what they would do with their spare time if they didn’t work, I really don’t get it.  The months I’m off work now are not enough time for me to do all the things I’d love to do.  I can’t imagine ever being bored.  There are books to read, trails to jog, projects to tackle.  If I never worked another day in my life, I can promise you I’d never be miserable due to not knowing what to do with my time.

I hear the same thing now from people about how awful it must be now that the kids are gone.  Well, I do miss them.  But thanks to technology, I can chat with them a lot.  And I’m not tripping over their clutter.  Nor am I gritting my teeth over the obnoxious sound of Sponge Bob or Family Guy blaring from the TV.  Big Daddy and I are taking more bike rides together in the evenings, and dinners are so much easier to throw together with just two of us here. My mom says, “Aren’t you sad you don’t have babies anymore?”  and I can honestly say that I love my boys just the way they are RIGHT NOW.  They’re still my babies, but they’re just a lot less work.  Besides, I enjoyed them while they were babies, so it’s easier to enjoy all the stages afterward, because I haven’t missed out on anything.

Big Daddy came home from work last Friday and jokingly said, “Are you pregnant or something?” because I was doing some heavy-duty house cleaning and we weren’t even expecting company.  But I actually don’t mind cleaning the house now because it actually stays that way for more than a few hours. My empty nest is finally a rather clean nest, and it’s filled with lots of happy memories.

2 Responses to “An Empty Nest Is A Clean Nest”


  1. 1 Beth September 9, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    Each day, I clean a different area of the house and remarkably they stay clean. I just close the door and don’t think about them until Thanksgiving break! One of the kids rooms just might become a library room! Stay tuned….

  2. 2 mamaneeds2rant September 9, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    I know. I can’t wait to tackle J’s room! I used to close their doors just so I didn’t have to look at the messes in there.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 170,431 hits


