The Aliens Are Coming!

And I’m not talking about the illegal kind.  We already have plenty of those here.  Supposedly, we are due very soon for a visit from the “little green men” UFO flying aliens.

This news was in my local paper today.  I was a little girl when the big Kecksburg UFO crash supposedly occurred.  I vaguely remember the buzz then because it was so close to home.  I’m very skeptical of most things (I need a lot of proof–especially about scary stuff like this!) so I’ve listened to both sides but haven’t really made up my own mind yet on what to believe.  But they’re claiming a lot of UFO sightings lately, and some of these believers aren’t your typical easy-to-dismiss crackpots.

Astronaut and scientist Edgar Mitchell, who was the sixth man to walk on the moon as part of the Apollo 14 mission in 1971, gave this interview recently:

Crap.  As if we don’t have enough scary stuff going on.  Terroristic maniacs, climate changes, skyrocketing prices, global wars and unrest–and now a possible alien invasion.  No wonder I don’t like getting out of bed in the morning.

6 Responses to “The Aliens Are Coming!”


  1. 1 Atrueoriginall September 1, 2008 at 12:01 pm

    Science dictates that nothing is fact (truth) unless tested or at least observed. In regard to your statement, “I’ve listened to both sides but haven’t really made up my own mind yet on what to believe”, the answer is very simple.

    A ‘belief’ comes from the truth so you believe nothing unless you personally observed. Either that or know of a rock solid test that took place.

    This is how you keep your sanity because science says so, and they’re right.

    I read so much mukity, muck on the Internet each day that I had to follow that guideline. What I do instead, is simply put everything in the back of my mind, but never in that filing cabinet labeled fact, truth, belief or even faith. Psychologically speaking, you shouldn’t anyway.

    Believing too much of the ‘fringe topics’ can even make you dark. That happens. I worked in a UFO forum as a moderator for about 4 years and I’ve seen personality changes in individuals (after a few months time) who dwell in the conspiracy sections for long periods. I’ve even seen paranoia manifest itself in the forum from people that were of sound mind the day they registered.

    I have four blogs and a forum myself and I’m pretty cautious about what I put in there.

    Atrueoriginall (aka: alien abductee) << Only I can believe that because only I was the observer so for me it’s fact. For everyone else it’s only a possibility that it happened or theoretical best.

    See what I mean?

  2. 2 Atrueoriginall September 1, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    By the way – GREAT TITLE! One such title will really yank them in here today from Google blog search and Google email alerts.

    It reminds me of The British are Coming, The British are Coming! lol

  3. 3 mamaneeds2rant September 1, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    wow. thanks for your input. I hope I never personally observe this kind of thing myself because I’m really a big chicken. But if these aliens do exist, I hope they don’t have evil designs on our planet.

  4. 4 Atrueoriginall September 1, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    Evil is required to defend the good.

  5. 5 Sheri November 13, 2008 at 8:26 am

    We had a UFO landing at Seton Hill…. I was even interviewed for the Trib Review!!! 😀 LOL.. It was an experiment from a neighboring school district, and the drama department at SHU… and they made it very realistic, and entertaining. Once again, I’ll have to show you pictures. LOL

    They said it was simply a weather balloon… HA!

  6. 6 mamaneeds2rant November 13, 2008 at 10:15 am

    I probably read that interview! I compulsively read every article in the darn paper–which is why it takes me all day.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 173,278 hits


