A Familiar Voice–From Germany

Oh my gosh!  How cute is this?  I answered the phone this morning and heard this familiar manly voice on the other end that just made my heart skip a beat.  It’s been 12 whole days since I’ve heard that voice, although I recently received and sent a couple of text messages.  Well, today J was calling from his apartment in Germany asking me if I knew what 350 degrees Fahrenheit translates into Celsius.  The poor boy wants to make himself something to eat (of course) and he doesn’t know what temperature he needs to use on this European oven!

We had to talk fast because he gets charged International roaming, although if he can pick up Wifi signals somewhere, he can talk to us for free supposedly.  I told him I’d look up the conversion on the computer since we Americans really barely touch on the Celsius system (or the metric system) in school.  I found out that 350 degrees Fahrenheit translates into 176.66666… degrees Celsius.  Besides, even if I knew the conversion, I’d have to calculate.  We accountants can’t do that kind of stuff without at least a calculator.

Other tidbits about his surroundings:  They have strange round outlets over there but since he’s in Army quarters, they also have regular American type electrical outlets next to them so he doesn’t have to get an adapter for all his electrical items.  They don’t have regular flushers on the toilets, just a big rectangular button (about 15″ x 8″) on top of the toilet which you push to flush, and there are no light switches.  He said instead of light switches like ours, there are just buttons on the wall that you push.

My baby’s experiencing a whole new culture.  And getting paid to do it.  I just hope he doesn’t go hungry trying to figure it all out!

2 Responses to “A Familiar Voice–From Germany”


  1. 1 Emily August 28, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    What I did was to print up a list of common celcius – farenheit conversions I would need and keep them in the kitchen.

  2. 2 mamaneeds2rant August 28, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    That may be the first thing I send out to him. Thanks for the idea!


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 171,331 hits


