From the Airport to the Luau

Yesterday, of course, was the sad day we had to take Middle Son J to the airport to begin his year-long deployment to Germany.  The night before, we had my family over for pizza because they all wanted to say goodbye to J.  Well, we no sooner got the place back to normal after the pizza party when my sister-in-law calls and tells us she wants to have a luau the next night.  She had wanted to have one the weekend of our anniversary, but since we were in Pittsburgh, she decided to have it another time.  And next Saturday, we’re moving Youngest Son back into his dorm.  My sister-in-law is kind of a social butterfly; she loves to entertain and to go out.  Big Daddy and I are content to go out maybe once a month and having two gatherings in a weekend was a bit more than either of us would have preferred,  but we agreed to go.  She asked me to bring an appetizer, so that night I went online to find some luau recipes.

I couldn’t really find an overabundance of luau appetizers, but I found this crock pot recipe for luau meatballs that I thought sounded good.  I planned to stop at the store after we got home from the airport and then get those meatballs cooking.

We didn’t have to be at the airport until about 11:30 Saturday morning.  I had a quick breakfast of coffee and a Slim-Fast bar, we packed up the van, and headed out.  On the way there, I started feeling queasy.  I’ve suffered from motion sickness since I was a baby, but it was hitting me really bad yesterday.  I tried to recline my seat a little and not think about it, but I felt miserable.  The traffic was horrible, thanks to PennDOT and their little road projects, so before we got to the airport we decided to stop at a hotel and relieve our bladders.  As soon as I stepped out of the van, before I could even get to the curb, I tossed my cookies all over the parking lot.  Big Daddy and J just stood politely by waiting for me to decide whether I was done throwing up, because I felt like I could go more.  J gallantly hands me a napkin he’d been holding so I could wipe my mouth, and we went into the hotel to pee.

We hung around at the airport for a little while until J said he was ready to go to the gate.  We could have gone to the gate with him since it was a military departure, but stupid me didn’t think about it before I left and so I didn’t have any ID on me.  On the way home, that carsick feeling was back.  Big Daddy glanced over, looking a little concerned, when I reached into the back for some plastic shopping bags.  I heaved and puked into that Aldi’s bag the whole way through the Squirrel Hill tunnel.  I don’t know what the deal was.  I haven’t actually puked from motion sickness since I was a kid.  I’ve come close, but nothing like this.

The last thing I wanted to do when we finally got home was think about food.  I just laid down on the family room floor, feeling like I wanted to die.  I didn’t get up until I felt that I could, which turned out to be about 3:30pm.  It was too late to make the meatballs.  I had to start from scratch and find a new recipe that I could whip up in a flash.  I found this one, and dashed off to the store to get the ingredients.  I even stopped at the Dollar Store to find some plastic skewers, but instead found these cute little wooden ones with colorful decorative tops.  Considering the luau started at 7:00, I’m pretty proud of myself that I was able to shop, prepare this dish, and make myself presentable in such a short time.  I made Big Daddy take a picture of my little luau dish while I was getting dressed.  Kinda cute, isn’t it?

5 Responses to “From the Airport to the Luau”


  1. 1 Pastor John August 17, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    Nice dish!

    Sorry you had to endure all the vomiting. At least it was yours ha ha.

    Here’s another dish for future luaus ‘luai’? What IS the plural?

    Hawaiian Franks and Beans
    Hot dogs (cut into bite size)
    (If you want to grill them first, better taste, but more time)
    2 cans crushed pineapple
    3 large cans flavorful baked beans
    1 onion chopped

    Mix it all together and cook.
    You can bake it in the oven,
    You can out it in a crock pot,
    You can even do it on the stove.

    Easiest dish ever

    Substitute kielbasi for hot dogs for spicier dish!

    Aloha!

  2. 2 mamaneeds2rant August 17, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    Yum! Thanks for the recipe.

  3. 3 shortattentionspa August 18, 2008 at 4:05 am

    I’m impressed! That looks pretty tasty. Hopefully the stomach was feeling alittle better so you could eat some of it.
    ❤ Brittany

  4. 4 mamaneeds2rant August 18, 2008 at 9:39 am

    Yep. The appetite was back to normal. Even was able to drink a pina colada.


  1. 1 It’s Finally Arrived, Y’all « Mamaneeds2rant’s Weblog Trackback on November 23, 2008 at 12:24 pm

Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 169,818 hits


