Middle Son J’s “Marilyn Encounter”

Weird things happen to my middle son J.  Not necessarily bad things.  When he was younger, he used to win stuff a lot.  He won a year-long fitness membership for Big Daddy and me, complete with child care, when he was a toddler in a health fair drawing.  Saved my sanity that year!

When he was on vacation in Myrtle Beach this summer, he met a girl.  (He meets them everywhere.  He’s a girl magnet).  But as the days went on, he found out that she was from Pennsylvania, about two hours from where we live.  Then he learned her brother was also in the Army Reserves.  His legs almost went out from under him when he realized that he actually knew her brother quite well, being in the same unit and all.  Just a very weird coincidence.

So yesterday, he went up to see this girl one last time before he heads off for Europe on Saturday.  They were at a McDonalds when a middle-aged African American woman approached J asking for help.  She said that there were some black cops robbing her and that she needed to get away from them.  She asked him for a ride to Ebensburg, PA.  When he said he wasn’t going there, she asked him if he knew where the library was, so he asked his friend since she’s from the area.  She begged them for a ride there, and after assessing the situation, they agreed.  She handed them a photocopied sheet of paper with a copy of a Greyhound bus receipt for Marilyn Blakney with a trip itinerary starting in Illinois and eventually ending up in Sacramento CA.  On both sides of this paper is a copy of handwritten diatribe talking about protecting women from some domestic violence organizations and some evil dudes named Carl Wyman and John Rodwin.  She called them white sex slave pimps and told the kids to pass these flyers out to protect their white sisters.  It talked about the “Microwave Oppression,” which I of course had to google.

I found this site about Marilyn Gibbs, with Marilyn sightings all over the country.  I don’t know where she’s headed to now, but I do hope the poor woman finds some peace.

7 Responses to “Middle Son J’s “Marilyn Encounter””


  1. 2 Rita November 12, 2008 at 2:37 am

    I gave her a ride to a church in Billings Montana today…I learned not to offer a ride before determining te sanity of the passenger. I had my two sons in the car and feel very foolish to place my kids at risk. She asked for money, for a ride to a copy center, asked if I had any food. I almost gave her $5.00 till she made me circle the church twice to be safe before she would get out of my car…I hope she does well, just not in my car with my kids…whew!

  2. 3 Lisa November 15, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    I had a “Marilyn Encounter” in Rigby, Id Nov.15th 2008 about 12 noon. I bought her lunch and dropped her off at the local grocery store.

  3. 5 sheribear9202 November 16, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    I grew up 20 minutes from Ebensburg… how weird is that????????


  1. 1 XXXIV: The Dark Knight. Mroczny rycerz. · Trackback on August 17, 2008 at 2:41 am
  2. 2 Marilyn’s Still Pounding The Pavement « Mamaneeds2rant’s Weblog Trackback on November 15, 2008 at 11:01 pm

Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 173,336 hits


