Spending…and Spending That Stimulus Check

Somewhere along the line, I must have not had a security need fulfilled.  I’m a saver…to the extreme.  Even as a teen, I got more pleasure putting my paychecks into my savings account than in spending them.  When I get cash for my birthday, I put it in the bank.  “Spend it on something nice for yourself,” my mom insists.  But I’m happier putting it in the bank.  I know.  I’m a sick puppy.  So of course, when we got that economic stimulus rebate, I planned to leave it right in the bank where it was direct deposited.  That’s usually what we do with our income tax refunds, and since this is nothing more than part of next year’s refund just delivered 10 months early, I wasn’t going to be swayed into frivolously spending this money on something that I didn’t need.

Well, life had other plans.  Our 27″ Panasonic TV decided to die the other night.  That was our biggest screen in the house.  It was fine, while it was working.  The only time it seemed hopelessly outdated was maybe after coming home from my brother’s house.  My brother is Mr. TV.  He got a huge projection TV years ago, and more recently bought a large flat screen for his basement.  They watch more movies in a week than we do all year.  When we come home from watching their TV, our TV looks pathetic.  But normally, I couldn’t care less.

But now that we’re back down to watching a 19″, well, we decided to catch up to the rest of America and splurge on a large flat-panel HDTV.  We had no idea what to get.  I should have called Mr. TV, but I started doing the research online.  Big Daddy and I looked at various features.  Plasma or LCD?  46″ or 50″?  What brands are reliable?  We finally selected one that seemed to be what we needed.  So then I comparison shopped until I found the best deal online, and decided to pick it up at the store.

So, the four of us went out to eat and then went to Best Buy, thinking we would be coming home with our new TV that was waiting to be picked up.  But then we saw better ones.  And now, instead of LCD, we decided we liked the plasma ones.  And the 50″ just looks so much more movie-screenish and symmetrical than the 46″.  We talked to a young man that was quite knowledgeable, and found that we didn’t really need to spend the extra cash on the 1080p resolution, and could get about the same results the next step down.  But then…do we want the extended warranty?  (I’m trying to talk Big D out of that).  And the Geek Squad should really calibrate it for maximum function which will be an extra $200 if we order now, or $300 if we decide later.  Then, of course, we may as well get the receiver we were looking at earlier for the surround sound effect that we wired the new family room for.  Oh, and don’t forget the new stand we’re going to need to accommodate the big TV.  And all the HD cables and such that are way more than a few dollars.  Next, we’ll have to call the cable company and upgrade that to HD also.

Holy crap!  We’re an economic stimulus dream team!

3 Responses to “Spending…and Spending That Stimulus Check”


  1. 1 Susan Kishner June 26, 2008 at 12:00 am

    I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.


  1. 1 Spending…and Spending That Stimulus Check | Gadgets Price Comparision and Reviews Trackback on July 22, 2008 at 3:56 am

Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 171,861 hits


