Vacation (With Bob Dylan)!

Gas prices are causing people to stay closer to home when taking their vacation this year.  I guess we’re just ahead of our time.  We’ve done this for a while.  For me, the sun is just as warm in my backyard as it is 500 miles away.  The restaurant choices are just as varied.  And I can have just as much fun at local amusements as I can far away from home.

That’s not to say we’ve never taken a family vacation.  When we do, we want to do it right.  When we go to the beach, we don’t like to skimp on anything.  The couple vacations I had as a kid sucked.  We stayed at no name motels miles from the beach and ate maybe one meal a day at the cheapest diner we could find. I used to worry about how much the folks were spending as much as they did.  Why bother?

The year we took our boys to Cancun was like a dream.  They still talk about it.  It was relaxing (time on the beach) and educational (we visited the Mayan ruins at Chichen Itza).  The fantastic pictures we have confirm the fact that I really did temporarily lose my mind.  God help me, but I actually allowed my boys to climb to the top of the pyramid there.  We all did, except my mom who watched us from the bottom.  There was no hand railing.  We could have all died.  I’m scared of height and I remember thinking that we’d probably never have this opportunity again and that I’d regret it if I didn’t climb.  So I did.  But I can hardly believe we let the boys climb–but anyways, we’re all still here.

Our pool in the backyard serves as our summer long vacation.  It costs us about what a typical week at the beach would cost, except we can enjoy it all summer long.  We don’t have to worry about crowds, dirty overpriced hotel rooms, or the possibility that the one week we’ve waited for all year is the week that a hurricane closes the beach.

This year, though, we’re splurging a bit.  Bob Dylan is going to perform nearby as part of a two-day concert.  Serendipitously, it is scheduled on our anniversary.  I mentioned to Big Daddy how I really would like to see Dylan in concert before I die–and he took the bait.  We booked a hotel room and bought the tickets.  It’s not cheap but a good vacation never is.

0 Responses to “Vacation (With Bob Dylan)!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 173,278 hits


