Mama’s Anal But She’s Usually Right

Big Daddy and I made a date this morning to enjoy the beautiful spring weather on the bike trail.  We loaded up the van and parked at one of the rest areas.  We took our bikes out, and then Big Daddy took the battery-operated remote control van key off the key ring.  I asked him, just because I’m the most anally cautious person on the planet, “Aren’t you worried you’re going to lose that key?” because I thought he was going to stuff it in his pocket for the ride.

“Yeah, that’s my plan,” Big Daddy says sarcastically.  Then he opens up the little zippered pack attached to his seat and tries to stuff his wallet in it.  “Oh, I didn’t know you had that pouch,” I said, relieved.  The wallet didn’t fit, so he took a $20 out and put it in the pouch with his cell phone and the van key.  Then he hid the wallet in the van.

We had a wonderful ride to the end of the trail.  It’s only about 5 miles and pretty flat, and fellow bikers and hikers said hello and nodded greetings.  It was just the perfect day to be outside.  We sat on a bench at the recreation area at the end of the trail and drank our water and watched some itty bitty soccer players at practice.  Boy did that bring back memories!

The only killer hill on that trail is leaving the recreation area, so even though I saw Big Daddy stop behind me, I told him I’d meet him up top.  If I would have stopped, I don’t think I could have psyched myself up enough to take the hill without walking.  When he caught up, I asked him if he lost something.  He said, “Yeah, the key.”  “What about the money and the cell phone?” I asked.  Luckily, it was just the key.  If it was the $20 I would have thought about all the nice cold Mr. Misty Floats it would have bought, and had he lost the phone, that would have been a disaster.  He has all his business contacts on that phone so things could have been a lot worse.  Big Daddy said to stop at my mom’s house (she lives near the other end of the trail), and he zoomed on ahead.  I thought he said he was going to ride home to get the other set of keys.

As it turns out, Big Daddy rode ahead to the end of the trail, where we were parked, thinking perhaps he lost the key right away and some Good Samaritan set it on the van.  I looked for it the whole ride to my mom’s.  As it turned out, not only did Big Daddy forget to zipper the pouch, but he forgot to lock the van.  The doors were all unlocked, and the wallet, with all our ID and credit cards, was sitting inside.  So, we didn’t even need to bring the key with us.

Even with all the drama, we still had a wonderful ride.  But, Big Daddy, don’t make fun of Mamacita!

3 Responses to “Mama’s Anal But She’s Usually Right”


  1. 1 Chris April 21, 2008 at 9:19 am

    You guys just get sillier with age =P

  2. 2 mamaneeds2rant April 21, 2008 at 9:22 am

    Then I guess we’re pretty damn silly, huh?


  1. 1 Credit Cards on Credit Speak » Mama’s Anal But She’s Usually Right Trackback on April 19, 2008 at 1:53 pm

Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 170,393 hits


