They’re Baaack…To School

Okay, boys. You know I love you to death. But yeah, until you’re home for a while, I forget how much work you all can be. Yes, even at the grown up ages of 19 and 20. Of course, if I weren’t working 50 hours a week, I could have spent more quality time with you which would have made up for some of the extra work. This is pretty much what the past week was like.

Enter old family room. Youngest son has left his mesh hamper piled to the brim with his dirty laundry. Didn’t even carry it into the laundry room. Both college boys have miscellaneous bags and backpacks scattered there also. Every room has at least one pair of shirts (they ALWAYS wear two t-shirts together), and they always take off both shirts together so I get to pull them apart before I wash them. There are always empty or half-empty gum wrappers laying about. Those are the ones that make it out of the jeans pockets that I always have to check before I wash . Big giant shoes are piled up in the entry way that trip me at least once a day, before I twist my ankle later over one of the dog toys somewhere else.

Enter any room downstairs–old family room, new family room, kitchen, dining room, or living room. There will be at least one tall glass, with some funky colored residue, and a spoon left inside. In each and every room. That would be Middle Son J, leaving a trail of protein mix or some other god-awful potion to build those muscles. And the kitchen. There is just no way one can keep up with a swarm of devouring locusts. I can’t buy the food fast enough, can’t cook it in sufficient quantity (although that’s been Big Daddy’s department since I’ve been working so much), and most of all, I can’t run the dishwasher or scrub the pots and pans enough times to keep a fresh supply. Mr. Bodybuilder eats about a dozen times a day (whether he’s hungry or not, he says). Gotta build those muscles. Every time you enter the kitchen, there’s a new dirty pan from him cooking something up. I was thoroughly defeated by Good Friday evening. Three men were home–cooking and eating, eating and cooking–until the kitchen looked like a bomb had exploded. And that was the day I was deathly tired. Thank goodness Big Daddy saw I was near the breaking point and surprised me with a clean kitchen the next morning! The man can be a saint.

The boys did help me out, though. And I know they’d do more if I asked (even though Youngest Son wouldn’t be too happy about it). They saved me from having to come home every day on my lunch hour to take the dog out. J put the lasagna in the oven for us so we could eat at a decent hour. And they crack me up, every single day!

2 Responses to “They’re Baaack…To School”


  1. 1 Chrissy March 24, 2008 at 9:30 pm

    Awwwwwwwww.
    I can’t wait til the day when all 3 boys can be home together again.
    The mess will be.. interesting.
    But I’d be willing to help out anytime!
    Just ask!
    Happy Easter!
    xoxo
    -Chrissy

  2. 2 mamaneeds2rant March 24, 2008 at 10:01 pm

    I know. I think our little bur is homesick. He better get his leave this summer!


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 171,861 hits


