Please Make Average Length Pants!

For the second time this week, I put on a pair of pants that I really like and that fit me very nicely. Except for one small detail. I almost look like I’m ready to jump puddles. My socks poke out between the shoes and pants hem. They’re FLOODS!

Now, at my age, I am not growing upward. And I only wash sheets, towels and undies in hot water so they didn’t shrink much. The problem was, when I bought them, I couldn’t find anything that fit better. They just don’t make clothes for average height American women, because at 5’4″, I am supposedly the average height for an American female. I can wear petite size tops, because I have like almost no shoulders. I am one of the few women out there that actually liked 80’s fashions, because the shoulder pads gave me some upper body presence. I was sad to see them go. But I know that Petite sizes are supposed to fit women 5’4″ and under. I’m right on the cusp there, supposedly. But I’ve tried on Petites and they hit way above my ankles. So I try to buy average length. But the average length pants I find must be “average” in some third world country. And this could possibly be the problem since you can’t find too many things made in America any more.

I would move up to Tall sizes, but I have no sewing skills. I went to Catholic school. They only had the 4 R’s–reading, ‘riting, ‘rithmetic, and of course, religion. No pool, and certainly no Home Ec. My boys can sew better than me, thanks to their Family and Consumer Education courses in middle school. I have resorted to taking a few things to a tailor, but that’s only when I find a really good deal, and it makes economic sense to spend the extra money on a hem. And really, I am not tall. I should not have to buy Tall sizes.

0 Responses to “Please Make Average Length Pants!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 171,861 hits


