I Do Care – I’m Just Spacey

I’m feeling unbelievably great lately.  I’m multitasking at work, like superwoman, pretty much.  I’ve been a one-woman tax-return production line.  I’ve been calm in the face of irritations.  I even got the dishwasher unloaded, cooked up a good lunch, fed and took out the dog, and cleaned up the kitchen on what was left of my lunch hour today.  I offered to make dinner tonight on Big Daddy’s night to cook, made sure we had fresh iced tea which he has been gulping down by the gallon, and did two loads of laundry tonight.  I’ve managed to be cheerful and supportive to Big Daddy during what has been a very stressful week ( job-wise).  But Big Daddy has it planted in his head somewhere that I don’t care enough about him, because I’m not as demonstrative as this fairy-tale picture in his head.  I don’t greet him with a kiss every night–but I’m usually in the middle of making dinner when he comes in.  I always say “Hi” and ask him how his day was.  When he leaves the room during a commercial, I often forget to yell “It’s back on” like he does for me, but that’s because half the time, I’m either half-watching and reading the paper, or I just get absorbed in the show and forget.   It’s his thing, not mine.  I didn’t start this ritual.  He also thinks I don’t notice things.  That’s true.  But he takes it personally.  As a matter of fact, years ago I worked with this guy that had a really bad toupee.  Like a mop.  And I swear to God, I never really noticed it until some of the other girls were laughing about how crooked it was on his head one day.  They couldn’t believe I didn’t even know he wore a toupee because it always sat on his head in a different position.  And after they pointed it out, well, I couldn’t believe I hadn’t noticed either.  Because, yes, it was very crooked.  And very obvious.  And then there was the time a few years ago that my husband shaved off his mustache.  He’s had it since I met him, back in 1976.  And it took the better part of a day until I noticed it was gone.

Okay.  So maybe I’m preoccupied.  Maybe my fabulous mind just rises above the mundane physical realm.  But anyhow, I try.  So when Big Daddy came home late tonight because he drove all the way out to New Alex for a haircut right after work, I turned away from the pans I was washing, gave him a big smile, and said “Nice haircut,” because he always claims I don’t notice.

Guess what?  There was no haircut.  To top off his hellish week, he drove all the way out there and her shop was closed up today.

2 Responses to “I Do Care – I’m Just Spacey”


  1. 1 Chris March 7, 2008 at 11:37 am

    Heh. Guess you are pretty spacey. You didn’t even notice his lack of a haircut! =(

    As long as you don’t become your mother exactly, it’s okay. =)

    That’s not to say I don’t love Grandma o_o

  2. 2 mamaneeds2rant March 7, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    Shoot me if I do get as bad as some of her friends


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 170,431 hits


