The Wonderful World of Germs

I woke up with no problem this morning. I went to bed before midnight, which is early for me, so I could start my first day back to work in a good mood. I felt rested, strong, and healthy. I was hoping that someone would already be at the office when I got in and have the coffee brewing. No such luck. But that was ok. I unlocked the office, turned on lights and got the coffee and tea pots going.

One by one, they straggled in. One sicker than the one before. Coughing, hacking, and sputtering. Not looking too healthy. Even the computers were sick! I could go online, but I couldn’t get to the site where I get my good e-mail. I could only get my crappy AOL spam e-mail. Ron said everybody was having computer problems lately. Great. Just what I need. The receptionist shuffled in with her two sniffling little girls (I work for a small family-run company) and said she’d had this bug since early January. Oh my God, she sounded like she had pneumonia. The younger of the toddlers ended up puking phlegm later in the day.

I almost forgot about this lovely aspect of work. There is always somebody sick. And as much as I try to avoid it, I sometimes end up with the crud, too. As a matter of fact, I’m feeling kind of crappy right now. I’m not imagining this. I think I’ve been infected–my first day back! I have that thick itchy feeling in my ears and throat. And I’m not happy.

2 Responses to “The Wonderful World of Germs”


  1. 1 Chris February 5, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    That’s why you need to carry around a giant bottle of hand sanitizer and one of those facemasks like they had during the SARS scare. =P

  2. 2 mamaneeds2rant February 5, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    Well I’ve been ODing on Vitamin C and Probiotics and actually I feel better today than I did last night. I should have brought some Lysol for my phone today, though.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 169,818 hits


