The Middle Child

Middle son J got to spend some of the weekend with us, away from college. When he’s here alone with us, without the distraction of his brothers, it’s easier to see how different and fascinating he is. All three of the boys have grown up to be wonderful interesting people, but each one of them is so amazingly different from the other two. Teachers used to say that if they didn’t look so much alike, no one would ever believe they were brothers!

When J was little, he was the sunshine of the group. His golden hair, sunny smile and easy disposition made everyone fall in love with him. He loyally followed bossy older brother’s demands and stoically put up with baby brother’s crabbiness. We have some examples of this on videotape and it’s hilarious. Even though he was the only one to quit kissing me when I dropped him off at school (around 2nd grade I noticed him frantically looking around to make sure no one was watching), he’s the most sensitive of the three. He would feel bad about eating meat, asking us sadly what kind of animal it was from. It almost made me become vegetarian. He’s most likely to beat up some jerk, but does not like hurting anybody and never instigates. He’s not interested in a lot of things, but what he does care about he is passionate about. Like body building, health and nutrition, and fixing up his truck. Oh, and girls. He looks like a bad ass (an extremely handsome one) with his muscles, tattoos and piercings but if you really know him like I do, you can see his sweet and generous nature is still there.

And the funniest thing about J is how he sees things so differently than they really are.  Like he used to ask us if we would be jealous if he had more money than us someday.  And I still don’t think he really believes me when I tell him that’s my DREAM–for him to be better off in every way than we are (he just better still come visit us!).  And today before he went back to college, he said he better leave before his dad got home.  I thought that was because he had cut class and he thought big daddy would be mad.  “No,” he said.  “You guys are probably sick of seeing me here.” Once again, I’m not sure he really believed us 100% when we told him that we LOVE when he’s home.  I guess he’ll see things our way when he has his own kids someday.

2 Responses to “The Middle Child”


  1. 1 Chrissy February 1, 2008 at 11:32 pm

    Awww.
    Poor J.
    I did notice that when I talk to him he does see things like that.
    He always used to tell me he was ugly.
    What a silly boy.
    =/

  2. 2 mamaneeds2rant February 1, 2008 at 11:55 pm

    I know. God knows he couldn’t be any cuter. He’s just living in J-land.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
January 2008
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 173,306 hits


