Good Times…Bad times…More Random Events

It’s still freezing around here. Me and the dog hang out in front of the fireplace a lot when it’s super cold. I just can’t get the chill out of my hands and feet. I often wonder how people way up north can function living in the cold for long periods of time. They must hate life. I know I would.

Last night was totally awesome. Before my oldest son left for Iraq, he set up our computer for Skype, which would enable us to talk to him (and anyone else that has it) over the computer for free. And we would be able to actually see him in real time via his webcam. He bought us the microphone but we haven’t purchased a webcam of our own yet, so we could see him and talk to him, but he couldn’t see us. But then today I got an e-mail from him. I guess something spilled onto his new laptop and he said it probably is nothing more than a $1400 paperweight now. Sucks.

On a brighter note, I just completed and e-filed my first tax return for the season! It was for middle son J and I believe he is a happy camper. I thought I got our personal returns done early last year (Feb 11th) so I’m really smokin’ this year. I HAVE to get our stuff done early because as a tax accountant, I will soon be too busy with everyone else’s returns. And I have two FAFSA forms to fill out for college aid and they need that ASAP. So while it’s good to be getting back into the swing of things, and having another paycheck to look forward to soon, I know the 6-day work weeks are just around the corner and that can be a drag. (whine, whine)

So here’s to dreams of hot summer days by the pool, kids all home and far from harm, and tax refunds all received and put to good use. It can’t be too far off, can it?

2 Responses to “Good Times…Bad times…More Random Events”


  1. 1 Mike Harmon January 26, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Mike Harmon

  2. 2 mamaneeds2rant January 26, 2008 at 7:16 pm

    Cool. Thanks for the kind words.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
January 2008
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 173,278 hits


